## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA**

**UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5716** ANSWERED ON:02.05.2002 PLYING OF MORE JAN SHATABDIS ASHOK NAMDEORAO MOHOL

## Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether attention of the Government has been drawn to the news-item captioned "16 more Jan Shatabdis soon" appearing in the 'Hindu' dated 9 April 2002;
- (b) if so, the route identified for plying Jan Shatabdis in the States including Maharashtra; and
- (c) the time schedule fixed for introduction of Jan Shatabdis?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINIST RAILWAYS (SHRI O. RAJAGOPAL)

- (a): Yes, Sir.
- (b): A Statement is given at Appendix.
- (c): 2051/2052 Madgaon-Lokmanya Tilak Terminus Jan Shatabdi has been introducedw. e. f 16.04.2002. The rest will be introduced during 2002-2003.

## **APPENDIX**

Appendix referred to in part (b) of Unstarred Question No. 5716 asked by Shri Ashok N. Mohol to be answered in Lok Sabha on 02.05.2002 regarding plying of 16 more Janshatabdis.

The following routes have been identified at present for running of the Jan shatabdis:-

Madgaon-Lokmanya Tilak (T) via Thane, Roha. 2 Guwahati- Dimapur via Chaparmukh, Hojai. 3 Raigarh-Raipur-Durg via Bilaspur. Ahmedabad-Bhuj via Viramgam, Samakhiali. Tata-Ranchi via Muri. Bangalore-Hubli via Tamkur, Birur. Ernakulam-Trivandrum via Alleppey.

8 Kota-Nizamuddin via Sawaimadhopur.

Bhubaneshwar-Howrah via Balasore.

- 10 Dehradun- New Delhi via Roorkee.
- 11 Howrah-Malda Town via Azimganj, Bandel.
- 12 Varanasi- Lucknow via Pratapgarh.
- 13 Chandigarh-New Delhi via Ambala Cantt, Kurukshetra.
- 14 Chennai Central-Gudur-Vijayawada via Sullurpeta, Gudur.
- 15 Habibganj -Jabalpur via Hoshangabad, Itarsi.
- 16 Katihar-Patna via MokamaÂ, Barauni.