## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA WATER RESOURCES LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:185 ANSWERED ON:08.03.2000 RECHARGE OF GROUND WATER ALE NARENDRA;P.R. KHUTE

## Will the Minister of WATER RESOURCES be pleased to state:

(a) whether the ground water level in various regions of several States is constantly declining as a result of which several handpumps and tubewells have become defunct;

(b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;

(c) whether the Government have assessed the annual decline in the ground water level in the country;

(d) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;

(e) whether the Union Government have formulated any action plan to achieve the target in time bound manner to raise the ground water level of affected areas;

(f) if so, the funds earmarked by the Government for the Ninth Five Year Plan, particularly for the year 2000-2001;

(g) whether the Government have made any request to different foreign agencies for financial assistance during the last three years; and

(h) if so, the quantum of foreign assistance received and utilized during the said period?

## Answer

THE MINISTER OF WATER RESOURCES (Dr.C.P.THAKUR)

(a)to(h) A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY OF PART (c) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.787 DATED 07.12.1999

NAMEOF THE STATE/DISTRICT SHOWING POCKETS WITALLINGROUND WATER LEVEL OF MORE THAN 4 METER (1980-99)

SL.No. State Districts

1. ANDHRA PRADESH Shrikakulam, Chittor.

2. MAHARASHTRA Akola, Nagpur, Jalgaon, Osmanabad, Satara, Aurangabad, Sangli, Buldhana, Amravati.

- 3. PUNJAB Amritsar, Jallandhar, Ferozpur, Ludhiana, Patiala, Sangrur, Faridkot, Fatehgarh.
- 4. HARYANA Kurukshetra, Kaithal, Mehandargarh, Jind.
- 5. UTTAR PRADESH Gonda, Farukhabad, Lucknow, Kanpur, Fetehpur Allahabad, Banda, Nainital
- 6. BIHAR East Singhbhum, Ranchi, Samastipur, Chapra, Dharbhanga
- 7. WEST BENGAL Purlia, Midnapur

8. ORISSA Koraput, Mayurbhanj.

9. RAJASTHAN Nagaur, Bikaner, Jaipur.

10. MADHYA PRADESH Ujjain, Dewas, Shajahanpur, Dhar, Sagar, Bilaspur, Raipur, Surguja, Guna, Narsinghpur

11. KARNATAKA Bijapur, Belgaum, Dharwar, Bellari, Shimoga, Bangalore, Mysore, Gulbarga

12. TAMIL NADU Salem, South Arcot, Coimbatore, Madurai, Tanjavour, Paddukottai, Kamrajar, Thirunaganar, North Kannada.