## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA** HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

**UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2409** ANSWERED ON:06.08.2003 UNIVERSITY STATUS TO INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION PRIYA RANJAN DASMUNSI

## Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) whether there are a number of institutions of higher education other than the Universities which are doing work of very high standard and are being given non-Plan Assistance and Plan grants by the Government; but they have only been given the status of deemed University and not that of a University;

(b) if so, the reasons therefor and the number of such institutions, State-wise; and

(c) the measures taken by the Government for giving such institutions the status of University?

## Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (DR. VALLABHBHAI KATHIRIA)

(a) & (b) : There are three categories of universities

(i) Central Universities established by the Central Government under the Central Act;

(ii) State Universities established by the State Government under the State Act; and

(iii) Deemed Universities notified under Section 3 of the UGC Act. 83 institutions of higher learning have been so far granted Deemed University status. UGC is providing development and maintenance grants to 12 Deemed Universities and development grant to 8 Deemed Universities. State-wise number of such institutions is enclosed.

(c) Deemed Universities already enjoy the status of Universities under UGC ACT.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a & b) OF THE LSHBHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2409 FOR 6.8.2003 REGARDING UNIVERSITY STATUS TO INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION ASED BY SHRI PRIYA RANJAN DASMUNSI

Statement showing State-wise number of Deemed Universities getting grants from UGC.

Sta D U	Name of the T te number weemed recei niversit maint es devel grants from UGC	of Univer ving enance and opment	sities D Universities receiving development	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	5	2	1
2.	Assam	1		
3.	Bihar	1		
4.	Gujarat	3	1	
	Haryana Himachal Pradesh	3 1		
7	Jharkhand	3		
8.	Karnataka	6		
10. 11.	Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra Orissa	1 3 15 1	1	4

13.	Punjab	2	
14.	Rajasthan	6	1
15.	Tamil Nadu	13	3
16.	Uttar Pradesh	7	1
17.	Uttranchal	2	1
18.	West Bengal	2	
19.	New Delhi	8	2