GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURISM AND CULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:6031 ANSWERED ON:05.05.2003 ASSISTANCE TO STATES FOR FAIRS AND FESTIVALS VIRENDRA KUMAR

Will the Minister of TOURISM AND CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government have prescribed any guidelines for sanctioning financial assistance to State Governments for organizing fairs and festivals;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether any of the State Governments has been denied financial assistance during the last three years for not observing those norms; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF TOURISM AND CULTURE (SHRI JAGMOHAN)

- (a): Yes, Sir.
- (b): As per the existing guidelines, financial assistance upto Rs.10.00 lakhs is provided to the State Governments/Union Territories for a maximum of two festivals in a year. Assistance is provided for creation of permanent/semi permanent structure, production of posters, pamphlets, advertisements, production of film, remuneration to artists, lighting, sound, seating arrangements etc.
- (c) and (d): A list of States where fairs and festivals were not sanctioned during the last three years is annexed. The main reasons for not sanctioning fairs and festivals in these States during the last three years are non-receipt of proposals from the State Governments, receipt of incomplete proposals, non-furnishing of utilisation certificates for funds sanctioned during the previous years etc.

ANNEXUREN RESPECT OF PART (c) AND (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.6031 ANSWERED 05.05.2003 REGARDING ASSISTANCE TO STATES FOR FAIRS AND FESTIVALS

LIST OF STATES WHERE FAIRS AND FESTIVALS WERE NOT SANCTIONED DURING 2000-01, 2001-02 AND 2002-03

YEAR STATE

2000-01 Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Goa, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Tamil Nadu Uttaranchal and West Bengal.

2001-02 Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Manipur, Sikkim, and Uttaranchal.

2002-03 Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Meghalaya, Orissa, Uttaranchal, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.