# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:741 ANSWERED ON:29.02.2000 RELEASE OF TERRORISTS SRIPRAKASH JAISWAL

#### Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether some terrorists were released in lieu of passengers of hijacked Indian Airlines Plane;
- (b) if so, the other names of terrorists whose release were demanded by those terrorists; and
- (c) the criteria adopted by the Government to decide the release of the terrorists?

### Answer

#### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

(SHRI CH.VIDYASAGAR RAO)

- (a) Yes, Sir.
- (b) A list is attached. Names of the 3 terrorists who were released have been starred in the attached list.
- (c) In handling the situation arising from the hijacking, Government set for itself clear and consistent priorities. These were
- (a) the earliest termination of the hijacking
- (b) the safe return of the passengers, crew and aircraft and
- (c) the preservation of national security.

The hijacking confronted Government and the nation with making a most difficult choice between two equally valid and significant moral imperatives: that of the preservation of innocent lives and that of combating terrorism. The struggle against terrorism and there should be no doubt about our resolve and firm detremination to crush this despicable menace - does not mean the secrifice of innocent men, women and children. The manner in which the termination of the hijacking was secured satisfied in substantial measure the priorities that Government had set out.

## SI.NO. NAME

- 1. Maulana Masood Azhar
- 2. Mohd. Arif Khan
- 3. Saifullah Khalid
- 4. Mohd. Sayed Khan
- 5. Mohd. Hassan Shafiq 6. Mohd. Yousuf Khawaja
- 7 Nisar Ahmed
- 8. Sultan Ahmed Mayana
- 9. Navid Iqbal Bhat 10. Nasir Ikram 11. Abdul Hai Malik 12. Mohd. Ishfaq Rajput 13. Shahid Latif 14. Sohail Ahmad Kataria 15. Mohd Nazir Khan 16. Nasir Mohd. Soudozi 17. Ahmed Omar Sayed Sheikh 18. Muzzamal Ahmad Dar 19. Farooq Ahmad Raja 20 Nasarullah Manzoor Langariyal 21. Syed Sajjid Sajjad Ali Bhukhari 22. Salahuddin Quasmi 23. Mushtaq Zargar 24. Zulfikar Ali Shal 25. Basharat Ali 26. Alam Khan 27. Rahil Ahmad Hashmi 28. Shahid Mohd. Mughal 29. Syed Khalid Hussain Bukhari 30. Nasir Ahmed Gujjar 31. Sayed Waqar Shah 32. Mohd. Ikram Balooch 33. Mohd. Sofi Jamat 34. Ghull Mohd. Bhat 35. Nashiullah 36. Jafa Ali