GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:255 ANSWERED ON:25.02.2000 NEW SCHEMES FOR UPGRADATION AND MODERNISATION OF DOORDARSHAN NETWORK PRABHAT KUMAR SAMANTARAY

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government propose to introduce some new schemes to upgrade and modernise Doordarshan network in the country; and

(b) if so, the details thereof along with the details of the Doordarshan Kendras proposed to be upgraded, State-wise?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION DBROADCASTING AND INISTER OF STATE OF THE DEPARTMENT OF DISINVESTMENT

(SHRIARUN JAITLEY)

Mangalore

(a) & (b): Upgradation and modernization of existing facilities is a continuous process and schemes in this regard are formulated and implemented from time to time depending on the availability of resources. At present, scheme for upgradation of 2 studios and 60 transmitters are at different stages of implementation. A statement showing State-wise details is enclosed.

Details of location where facilities are being upgraded.

```
Sr. Name of State Modernisation Increasing
                                            LPT to HPT VLPT
                                                               VLPT
No. of Studio power of HPT to LPT to HPT
1.Andhra Pradesh - Rajamundry Warangal - -
2.Assam - - Guwahati DD2 - -
      Silcher DD2
      r Ranchi Guwahati DD2 - -
Patna DD2 - -
3.Bihar Ranchi
4.Goa
           Panaji DD2
                       -
5.Gujarat
             Surat
      Vadodra
6.Himachal
              Shimla DD2
Pradesh
7.J&K
          Kathura Naushera Poonch
       Jammu DD2 Samba Udhampur
       Srinagar Kupwara
       (Kashir Channel)Gurej
        Tithwal
8.Karnataka
               Hassan
```

Mysore Raichur

- 9.Kerala Calicut(Pmt.) Cannanore Cochin DD2 Trivandrum DD2
- 10.Madhya Pradesh Ambikapur Chuna Shahdol
- 11.Maharashra Bhopal DD2 Chandrapur Jalgaon Ratnagiri Nagpur DD2

12.Manipur Churachandpur

13.Meghalaya Tura DD2

14.Orissa Sambalpur Sambalpur DD2 Nayagarh

- 15.Punjab Fazilka Amritsar
- 16.Rajasthan Barmer Ajmer Jaipur DD2
- 17.Tamilnadu Kumbakonam
- 18.Tripura Agartala DD2
- 19.Uttar Pradesh Banda Lakhimpur Lucknow DD2 Gopeshwar
- 20.West Bengal Balurghat Jhalda Khargpur Krishnanagar Shantiniketan Murshidabad DD2
- 21.Delhi Delhi

22.Pondicherry Pondicherry