GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LAW AND JUSTICE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5181 ANSWERED ON:25.04.2003 NOTARY PUBLIC RATTAN LAL KATARIA

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) The number of Notary Public and Additional Counsels whohave been appointed in various courts of the country during the last three years, State-wise and Union territories-wise.
- (b) The number of them belongs to SC and ST;
- (c) Whether the policy of reservations is implemented during these appointments; and
- (d) If no, the reasons therefor?

Answer

MINISTER OF LAW & JUSTICE AND COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (SHRI ARUN JAITLEY)

- (a): A statement indicating the number of Notaries Public and Additional Government Counselswho have been appointed in various courts of the country during the last three years, State-wise and Union territory-wise is enclosed herewith
- (b): The known number of Notaries Public belonging to SC/ST appointed during the last three years is nine. This data is based on the information collected after necessary amendments were made in the formats of memorials for indicating caste status w.e.f. 12.3.2001. No separate account of Government Counsels belonging to SC/ST category is maintained.
- (c)&(d): There are no posts of Notaries Public or Government Counsels created as such. Accordingly, question of reservation does not arise.

Statement referred to in answer to Part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.5181 for 25.4.2003.

Number of Notaries Public and Additional Government Counsels appointed State-wise and Union Territory-wise during the last three years:

```
Notaries Public
                         Additional Government Counsels
1. Andhra Pradesh
                     90
2. Assam
            18
            71
3. Bihar
4. Gujarat 44 20
5. Kerala 09 97
6. Madhya Pradesh 01 24
7 Tamil Nadu 03 141
8. Maharashtra 56 120
9. Karnataka 32 61
10. Orissa 01 22
11. Punjab 103 37
12. Rajasthan 59 45
13. Uttar Pradesh 140 183
14. West Bengal 25 162
15. Jammu & Kashmir - 41
16. Nagaland -
```

- 17. Haryana 112 61
- 18. Himachal Pradesh 1 08

- 19. Manipur 20. Tripura 02
 21. Meghalaya 22. Sikkim 23. Mizoram -

- 23. Mizoram 24. Arunachal Pradesh 25. Goa 01 26. Uttranchal 11 08
 27. Chhattisgarh 02
 28. Jharkhand 02 11
 29. Delhi 82 356
 30. Andaman & Nicobar Islands 01
 31. Lakshadween -
- 31. Lakshadweep -
- 32. Dadra & Nagar Haveli 33. Daman & Diu 34. Pondicherry 35. Chandigarh 06 47