GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMUNICATIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:565
ANSWERED ON:28.02.2000
VILLAGE PUBLIC TELEPHONE FACILITY IN MADHYA PRADESH
DINESH CHANDRA YADAV;P.R. KHUTE;SATYAVRAT CHATURVEDI

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of villages covered by the Village Public Telephone facility and where the said facility is not available in Madhya Pradesh particularly in backward areas and Bihar particularly in Saharsa and Supal districts during the last three years, separately, district-wise; and
- (b) The number of such telephones proposed to be provided in those States during 2000-2001, location-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR)

(a) The Village Public Telephone facility has been provided in large number of villages in Madhya Pradesh including backward areas and in Bihar including Saharsa and Supal districts. Information on such facility provided during the last three years is as under:

```
Madhya Pr. Bihar Saharsa Distt. Supal Distt.
No. of Villages 71526 79208 438 517
```

Villages Provided with 43615 21856 287 275 VPTs upto 31-01-2000

Villages not having VPTs 27911 57352 151 242

VPTs provided during last 3 years

```
1997-98 3878 2615 56 48
1998-99 3707 2137 42 24
1999-2000 (Upto 31st Jan, 2000) 334 503 16 12
```

- b) the number of such telephones proposed to be provided in those States during 2000-2001, location-wise? District-wise information is in the enclosed Annexures.
- (b) The Govt. plans are to provide 3,000 VPTs in Madhya Pradesh and 17,700 VPTs in Biharduring 2000-2001. VPTs are provided at places which are easily accessible to public.

Annexure

VPTs provided in different districts in MP during last 3 years

```
S1. No. Name of District 1997-98 1998-99 1999-2000 (As on 21-02-2000)
```

```
1 Balaghat 124 152 80
2 Bastar 12 230 23
3 Belul 14 260 15
4 Bhind 87 28 0
5 Bhopal 43 0 0
```

```
6 Bilaspur 20 350 166
7 Chhaiarpur 24 55 0
8 Chhindwara 117 307 131
9 Damoh 13 42 0
10 Delia 0 0 0
11 Dewas 36 33 0
12 Dhar 3 0 0
13 Durg 5 134 28
14 Guna 172 39 0
15 Gwalior 0 0 0
16 Hoshangabad 112 81 0
17 Indore 72 23 0
18 Jabalpur 194 50 0
19 Jhabua 218 17 0
20 Khandwa 38 0 0
21 Khargaon 102 154 94
22 Mandla 33 143 39
23 Mandsaur 251 81 0
24 Morena 135 34 0
25 Narsingpur 100 152 114
26 Panna 59 0 0
27 Raigarh 13 170 48
28 Raipur 0 200 20
29 Raisen 179 19 0
30 Rajgarh 63 30 0
31 Rajanandgaon 0 0 0
32 Ratlam 170 15 0
33 Rewa 12 70 0
34 Sagar 140 41 0
35 Sarguja 0 120 0
36 Satna 202 101 0
37 Sehore 75 65 0
38 Seoni 90 222 148
39 Shahdol 160 101 0
40 Shajapur 110 79 0
41 Shivpuri 302 70 0
42 Sidhi 29 0 0
43 Tikamgarh 14 5 0
44 Ujjain 154 0 0
45 Vidisha 185 34 0
```

Total 3878 3707 906

Annexure

VPTs provided in different districts in Bihar during last 3 years

```
Sl. No. Name of District 1997-98 1998-99 1999-2000
1 Arrah 96 24 58
2 Araria 34 52 51
3 Aurangabad 48 36 24
4 Banka 80 63 41
5 Begusarai 29 12 60
6 Bhabhua 44 11 00
7 Bhagalpur 147 112 72
8 Bokaro 48 100 30
9 Buxer 58 11 47
10 Chapra 28 36 120
11 Chatra 00 05 00
12 Darbhanga 24 12 72
13 Deoghar 74 40 12
14 Dhanbad 96 198 56
15 Dumka 72 48 12
16 E. Champaran 78 72 48
17 E.Singhbhum 52 00 21
18 Gaya 48 48 24
19 Garhwa 00 21 29
20 Giridih 38 36 05
21 Godda 48 12 12
22 Gopalganj 12 20 30
23 Gumla 48 26 12
24 Hazaribagh 48 42 08
25 Jahanabad 26 04 06
26 Jamui 52 40 39
27 Katihar 58 60 48
28 Khagria 24 12 36
29 Kishanganj 32 34 36
30 Kodarma 10 36 08
```

- 31 Lakhisarai 39 14 12
- 32 Lehardaga 22 10 04 33 Madhepura 41 08 04 34 Madhubani 24 14 72
- 35 Mungher 46 36 24
- 35 Mungher 46 36 24
 36 Muzaffarpur 54 48 04
 37 Nalanda 64 140 16
 38 Nawada 21 24 12
 39 Pukur 12 08 01
 40 Patna 136 138 22
 41 Palamu 06 36 30
 42 Purnea 66 48 46
 43 Ranchi 112 84 12
 44 Rohtas 69 16 01
 45 Saharsa 42 36 16
 46 Sahibganj 30 22 12
 47 Samastipur 24 12 72
 48 Sheohar 05 04 01
 49 Shekhpura 34 24 12

- 49 Shekhpura 34 24 12 50 Sitamarhi 54 48 02 51 Siwan 12 24 30 52 Supaul 44 36 12 53 Vaishali 80 29 44

- 54 W.Champaran 54 53 23 55 W.Singhbhum 62 02 34