GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:267 ANSWERED ON:25.02.2000 RESTRUCTURING OF DFP AND DAVP P.D. ELANGOVAN

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government propose to revamp the Directorate of Field Publicity (DFP) and the Directorate of Advertising and Visual publicity (DAVP);
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the funds allocated to DFP has been misused by the DFO's and the other staffof DFP by Producing false or fabricated tour programmes during the last three years;
- (d) if so, the details of the action taken against them;
- (e) whether there is any Monitoring Committee or Commission to look after the activities of DFP and DAVP;
- (f) if not, the manner by which the Government ensure the funds allocated are properly utilised; (g) whether the Government propose to open more Field Publicity Offices (DFO's) in the country; and (h) if so, the details thereof, location-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION ABNODAD CASTINGAND MINISTER OF STATE OF THE DEPARTMENT OF DISINVESTMENT (SHRI ARUN JAITLEY)

- (a) & (b): There is no proposal to revamp either the Directorate of Field Publicity (DFP)or the Directorate of Advertising & Visual Publicity (DAVP). The National ProductivityCouncil have conducted the study of the DAVP to suggest measures for revamping the DAVP.
- (c): No, Sir.
- (d): Does not arise.
- (e) & (f): There is no Monitoring Committee or Commission to look after the activities of DFP and DAVP. The physical/financial progress of activities and utilisation of funds by the DFP and DAVP are monitored in the Ministry on the basis of monthly reports, submitted by them.
- (g) & (h): Ten new Field Publicity Units are envisaged to be set up in various parts of the country during the remaining part of the Ninth Plan, subject to approval of the scheme by the competent authority. The details are given below:
- S.No. State Location
- 1. Nagaland Wokha
- 2. Arunachal Pradesh Roing
- 3. Assam Kokrajhar
- 4. Uttar Pradesh Haridwar
- 5. Orissa Bolangir
- 6. Tamil Nadu Nilgiri
- 7 Maharashtra Dhule

- 8. Haryana Kurukshetra
- 9. Madhya Pradesh (W) Khargone 10. Madhya Pradesh (E) Raigarh