## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TEXTILES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4881 ANSWERED ON:20.12.2002 YARN BANKS ALE NARENDRA

## Will the Minister of TEXTILES be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of yarn banks for handloom weavers presently working in the country, State-wise and location-wise;
- (b) the steps taken by the Government to set up new yarn banks; and
- (c) the strategy adopted by the Government to ensure regular and full supply of yarn to the weavers through the network of such banks?

## **Answer**

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF TEXTILES (SHRI BASANAGOUDA R. PATIL (YATNAL)

- (a) Government of India has been implementing the Mill Gate Price Scheme under which the National Handloom Development Corporation (NHDC) has been arranging supplies of yarn to handloom organizations at the prices at which the yarn is available at Mill gate. There is a provision in this Scheme for opening of yarn depots by handloom organizations for supplying yarn to the weavers. At present there are 83 such depots in the country. The location-wise details are annexed.
- (b) & (c) Under the scheme, yarn depots can be opened by the handloom weavers` organizations, which have sufficient working capital and infrastructure facilities. Proposals for opening of yarn depots are considered by the Government of India/NHDC on merit and on the recommendation of the Director-in-charge of Handlooms of the respective States. Supply of yarn to these depots is made by NHDC on the basis of the indents received from the organizations running the depots.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN THE REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.488 ANSWER ON 20.12.2002

```
SL.No. STATE PLACES OF DEPOT
```

- 1. ANDHRA PRADESH 1.BHIMAVARAM
  2.VELPUR
  3.CHIRALA (2 NOS.)
  4.ANGARA
  5.K.J.PURAM
  6.HASANABADA
  7.KOTHAWADA
  8.ANANTPUR
  9.KOYALLAGUDAM
  10.POCHAMPALLY
  11.HUZURABAD
- 2. ARUNACHAL PRADESH 1.DOIMUKH

12.HYDERABAD (3 NOS.)

- 3. ASSAM 1.SUALKUCHI (2 NOS.) 2.KARIMGUNJ
- 4. BIHAR 1.MANPUR, GAYA
- 5. CHHATTISGARH 1.SAUSER (2 NOS.) 6. GUJARAT 1.BHUJODITAL, KACHCHH
- 7 KARNATAKA 1.RAMDURGA
  - 2.BANHATTI
  - 3.RANEBENNUR
  - 4.GULBARGA
  - 5.ILKAL

- 8. KERALA 1.KANNUR
  - 2.THIRUVANANTHAPURAM
  - 3.KOZHIKODE
- 9. MADHYA PRADESH 1.GWALIOR
  - 2.NEWBARI
  - 3.SARANGPUR
  - 4.CHANDERI, GUNAGARH
- 10. MANIPUR 1.IMPHAL (2 NOS)
- 11. MEGHALAYA 1.TURA
- 12. TAMIL NADU 1.KANCHEEPURAM
  - 2.VELLORE
  - 3.CUDDALORE
  - 4.KARUR
  - 5.JAYANKONDAM
  - 6.TRICHY
  - 7.DHARMAPURI
  - 8.SALEM
  - 9.TIRUCHIENGODE

  - 11.CHENNIMALAI (2 NOS.)
  - 12.GOBICHETTYPALAYAM
  - 13.COIMBATORE
  - 14.GUDIYATHAM
  - 15.NAGERKOIL
  - 16.TIRUNELVELI
  - 17.ARUPUKKOTAI

  - 18.SRIVILLIPUTHUR
  - 19.MADURAI
  - 20.ARAKKONAM
- 13. TRIPURA 1.AGARTALA (2 NOS.)
- 14. UTTAR PRADESH 1.ALIGARH
  - 2.GORAKHPUR
  - 3.MAUNATHBHANJAN
  - 4.TANDA
  - 5.JALALPUR
  - 6.KHAIRABAD
  - 7.ETAWA
  - 8.VARANASI
  - 9.KHALILABAD
  - 10.NEHTORE
- 15. RAJASTHAN 1.JAIPUR
- 16. NAGALAND 1.DIMAPUR (2 NOS.)
  - 2.KOHIMA
- 17. WEST BENGAL 1.BIDYANAGAR
  - 2.SINGHARI
  - 3.MADHAIPUR
  - 4.HATSIMLA-SAMUNDRAGARH
  - 5.SHYAMBATI
  - 6.GHOSHHAT
  - 7.NASTRATPUR
  - 8.JUKHIA, MIDNAPUR