## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3104
ANSWERED ON:10.12.2002
CENTRE FOR BIOCHEMICAL TECHNOLOGY(CSIR)
CHANDRA PRATAP SINGH

## Will the Minister of SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of scientists promoted in Centre for Biochemical technology (CSIR) during 1997-2000, category-wise, year-wise;
- (b) the total number of publications and number of patents filed by the said scientists during the respective assessment years, Yearwise and Scientists-wise;
- (c) whether the publication and filing patents are the only criteria for promotion;
- (d) if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (e) if not, the other criteria adopted for promotion in detail?

## Answer

## MINISTER OF STATE FOR SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (SHRI BACHI SINGH RAWAT)

- (a) The total number of Scientists promoted in the erstwhile Centre for Biochemical Technology(CBT), now Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology(IGIB), New Delhi during the period 1997-2000, categorywise, yearwise is placed at Table I.
- (b) The total number of publications and the number of patents filed by the said Scientists during the respective assessment years, yearwise, Scientistwise is at Table-II and III respectively.
- (c) No Sir.
- (d) Does not arise.
- (e) Promotion of the said Scientists was made as per the CSIR policy on the subject and on the basis of the gradings obtained by the Scientists in their Annual Performance Appraisal Reports; Reports of the Peer Review; and performance in the interview.

```
TABLE - I
```

```
No. of Scientists Promoted Group
1997-1998
5 IV (3) to IV (4)
2 IV (2) to IV (3)
1998-1999
3 IV (4) to IV (5)
4 IV(3) to IV(4)
1 IV(2) to IV(3)
1999-2000
2 IV(3) to IV(4)
1 IV(2) to IV(3)
1 IV(1) to IV(2)
```

TABLE - II

```
Scientist 1997 1998 1999 2000
Dr. Rita Kumar 2 2 1 2
Dr. M.A. Q. Pasha - - - 3
Dr. K.K. Taneja - - - 2
Dr. Santosh Pasha 1 1 2 1
```

```
Dr. Pradeep Nahar 1 - - -
Dr. R.H. Das 2 - 2 -
Dr. H.R. Das 1 2 3 1
Dr. Ashok Kumar 2 1 2 3
Dr. B.K. Malik - 1 2 1
Dr. W.N. Gade - - -
Dr. G.L. Sharma 2 1 - -
Dr. Susheela Sridhara 2 5 2 5
Dr. L.S. Meena - - - 1
Dr. Arjun Ram 1 - - -
Dr. G.W. Rembhotkar - - -
Dr. Rekha Chaturvedi 2 1 - -
Dr. P.G. Ramachandran - - -
Mr. Uday Kumar - - -
Mr. D.D. Sharma - - -
```

TABLE - III

Scientist Patents Filed
1997 1998 1999 2000

Dr. Rita Kumar - 4 - 5

Dr. H.R. Das - - 1 
Dr. G.L. Sharma - - - 2

Dr. Pradeep Nahar - - - 2

Dr. M.A. Q. Pasha - - - 
Dr. K.K. Taneja - - - 
Dr. Santosh Pasha - - - 
Dr. R.H. Das - - - 
Dr. Ashok Kumar - - - 
Dr. B.K. Malik - - - 
Dr. Susheela Sridhara - - - 
Dr. Arjun Ram - - - 
Dr. Arjun Ram - - - 
Dr. Rekha Chaturvedi - - - 
Dr. P.G. Ramachandran - - 
Mr. Uday Kumar - - 
Mr. D.D. Sharma - - -