GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5382 ANSWERED ON:30.04.2002 DISTRICT ELEMENTARY EDUCATION PROGRAMME GOWDAR MALLIKARJUNAPPA; IQBAL AHMED SARADGI; SHASHI KUMAR

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) Whether the Project Approval Board (P AB) for the Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan has approved the project Elementary Education Programme for about 11 districts in Karnataka;

(b) if so, whether PAB has also approved around 22 projects across the country;

(c) whether under the said programme, universalisation of elementary education is to be achieved by Govt.;

(d) if so, the other steps taken/being taken by the Union Government to implement the scheme; and the details of districts identified by P AB in the State of Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh?

Answer

ISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (PROF. RITA VERMA)

(a) The Project Approval Board (PAB) constituted under Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan Programme had preparedDistrict Elementary Education Plans (DEEPs) for the year 2001-02 for 27 districts of Karnataka.

(b) The PAB had approved DEEPs for 2001-2002 for 512 districts.

(c) & (d) The programme envisages universalisation of enrolment by 2003, by bringing all children of 6-11 age group in schools, Education Guarantee centres, Alternative schools, back to School camps, etc. Under the programme, annual plans have been approved by the PAB on the basis of overall requirements of the districts and also based on the report of the Appraisal Team.

The names of districts for which annual plans have been approved by the PAB for Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka are given in the statement annexed.

Statement referred to in reply to part (e) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.5382 raised by Shri Iqbal Ahmed Saradgi Shri G. Mallikarjunappa. and Shri Shashi Kumar for reply on 30-4-2002.

And	hra Pradesh	Karnataka		
Sl. No.	District		Sl. No.	District
1.	Adilabad		1.	Bagalkot
2.	Anantapur		2.	South Bangalore
3.	Chittoor		3.	North Bangalore
4.	Cuddapah		4.	Belgaum
5. 6.	East Godabari Guntur		5. 6.	Bellary Bidar

7	Hyderabad
'	

8.	Karimnagar

- 9. Khamman 10. Kumool 11. Krishna 12. Medak 13. Mehboobnagar 14. Nalgonda 15. Nellore 16. Nizamabad 17. Prakasam

- Prakasam
 Rangareddi
 Srikakulam
 Vishakhapatnam
 Viziyanagaram
 Warangal
 West Godabari
 24. Shimoga
 25. Tumkur
 26. Udupi
 27. Uttar Kanada

- 7. Bijapur
- 8. Chamarajnagar
- 9. Chickmanglur
 10. Chitradurga
 11. Dakishan Kanada
 12. Davanagere
 13. Dharwad
 14. Gadag
 15. Gulbarga
 16. Hassan
 17. Haveri
 18. Kodagu (Coorg)
- Haveri
 Kodagu(Coorg)
 Kolar
 Koppal
 Mandya
 Mysore
 Raichur