GOVERNMENT OF INDIA POWER LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1706
ANSWERED ON:25.07.2002
DEADLINE TO CLEAR OUTSTANDING OF SEBs
KAMBALAPADU E. KRISHNAMURTHY;N.N. KRISHNADAS;NARESH KUMAR PUGLIA;SHYAMA SINGH;VINAY KUMAR SORAKE

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Union Government had set up a deadline of June 30, 2002 for all the SEBs to clear their dues as reported in The Hindu dated June 21, 2002;
- (b) if so, the progress made in clearing of dues;
- (c) whether the Government have decided to restrict power supply to the States which have not cleared their dues; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER(SHRIMATI JAYAWANTI MEHTA)

- (a): On the basis of the recommendations of the Expert Group under the Chairmanship of Montek Singh Ahluwalia that was endorsed, with minor modifications, by the High Level Empowered Group of Chief Ministers under the Chairmanship of Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission, Government of India approved thescheme of one-time settlement of outstanding dues payable by the State Electricity Boards (SEBs) to the Central Public Sector Undertakings (CPSUs). The scheme wasnounced on 17-04-2002. On 20-05-2002, modified tripartite agreement (TPA) that is to be signed among the State Government, Government of India and the Reserve Bank of India, was circulated. The scheme provides for One Time Settlement (OTS) obutstanding dues of CPSUs payable by SEBs as on 30-9-2001 by way of issuance of 15 years, 8.5% tax free bonds and opening of Letter of Credit equal to 105% of average monthly billing. The deadline for signing of TPA and opening of Letters of Credit was 30.6.2002.
- (b): Twelve State Governments, namely, the Governments of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh have signed the TPA. Nine other StateGovernments, namely, the State Governments of Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Maharashtra, Nagaland, Orissa, Rajasthan, Uttaranchal and West Bengal have so far, agreed `in-principle` to sign the TPA. Other State Governments have been advised to signthe TPA and open the Letters of Credit at the earliest. SEBs and Power utilities of States of Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, J&K, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Assam, Goa and Chandigarh have opened the Letters of Credit equal to 105% of average monthly billing.
- (c) & (d): The scheme comprises incentives and disincentives for the State Governments to participate in the scheme. If SEBs do not default on their current dues and adhere to the performance milestones, CPSUs are to pay them,bi-annual cash incentives equal to 3 per cent of the value of bonds in the first year, 2.5% in the second year and 2% in the third and fourth years (incentive of 19% for four years). Further, if SEBs open and maintain Letters of Credit (LCs), CPSUs are to pay them a one time cash centive equal to 2 per cent of the value of bonds. In addition, states undertaking reforms would also be assisted through Accelerated Power Development and Reform Programme
- (APDRP) grants and discretionary allocation of Power. The states that withhold theirconsent beyond 60 days after this scheme enters into force are to be denied any share in the discretionary allocation of 15 per cent from the power stations of CPSUs as well asany assistance under APDRP. If the overdues of such States exceed Rs. 50 crore inrespect of any CPSUs, they would also attract reduction in power and coal supplies, as available to the states participating in this scheme.