## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA** INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING **LOK SABHA**

**UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3744** ANSWERED ON:08.08.2002 CENTRAL PRESS ACCREDITATION COMMITTEE SANAT KUMAR MANDAL

## Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government have recently changed their policy for the Constitution of Central Press Accreditation Committee which has sparked of a controversy;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the manner in which the members of the committee are selected and its total strength; and
- (d) the number of journalists nominated on the committee, their names and the newspapers they represent?

## Answer

## THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SMT. SUSHMA SWARAJ)

(a) to (d): The Central News Media Accreditation Rules, 1999 envisage that the Central PressAccreditation Committee (C.P.A.C) shall consist of P.I.O. as Chairperson and a maximum of 19 other members representing associations/organisations of working journalists/media persons who should be eligible for accreditation under these rules. The guidelines for nominating members to the C.P.A.C. were modified with a view to ensuring uniform representation to all recognized associations/organisations. Accordingly, one member has been included from the names sent by each of the 13 recognized associations/federations and the remaining six members have been included from amongst media persons who are eligible for accreditation under the rules, with P.I.O. as the Chairperson.

A list of the present members of the C.P.A.C. is annexed.

LIST REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (d) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3744 FOR 08.8.2002

S.N. NAME ASSOCIATION/ORGANIZATION

- 1) Smt. N.J. Krishna, Chairperson Principal Information Officer, PIB
- 2) Sh. Jayanta Ghosal National Union of Journalists (I) (Bartman, Kolkata)
- 3) Sh. Harbhajan Singh All India Small & Medium Newspapers Federation
- (Indian Observer, New Delhi)
  4) Sh. Suresh Akhauri Indian Journalists Union (Hindustan, New Delhi)
- 5) Sh. Vishwa Bandhu Gupta All India Newspaper Editors Conference (The Tej, New Delhi)
- 6) Sh. S.A.H. Rizvi The Press Association (Delhi Mid-Day)
- 7) Sh. Ramesh Sharma Indian Federation of Working Journalists (Rashtriva Sahara)
- 8) Sh. Lalit Shrimal Indian Languages Newspapers Association (Dainik Madhyanchal, Ujjain)
- 9) Sh. Thyagraj Indian Federation of Small & Medium Newspapers (Phavana, Simoga)
- 10) Sh. Alok Mehta Editors Guild of India (Dainik Bhaskar)
- 11) Sh. Pramod Mathur Working News Cameramen's Association (Spot Films, New Delhi)
- 12) Sh. Surinder Kapoor News Cameramen's Association (ANI, New Delhi)
- 13) Sh. Shankar Chakravarty Association of Accredited News Cameramen (The Hindu)
- 14) Sh. Ranjit Bhushan (Outlook, New Delhi)
- 15) Sh. Devsagar Singh (Freelance)
- 16) Sh. Tarun Vijay (Panchjanya, New Delhi) 17) Sh. Manohar Puri (Freelance)
- 18) Sh. Rajeev Deshpande (India Today)
- 19) Sh. Gopal Mishra (Freelance)
- 20) Ms. Sandhya Jain (Freelance)