GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:64
ANSWERED ON:18.07.2002
RAILWAY ZONES
MANSINH PATEL;RAMSHETH THAKUR

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the jurisdiction of newly created railway zones has been finalised/ notified;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, zone-wise;
- (c) whether these new railway zones have started functioning;
- (d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the time by which these zones are likely to be made functional;
- (e) the expenditure incurred so far on creating of these zones;
- (f) whether any committee appointed by the Government has commented upon the creation of Railway zones/division;
- (g) if so, the details thereof and the reaction of the Government thereto;
- (h) whether the move of creating new zones has been widely criticized by various railway organisations/States; and
- (i) if so, the reaction of the Government thereto?

Answer

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS (SHRI NITISH KUMAR)

- (a) to
- (i): A statement is laid on the Table of the Sabha.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO

- (i) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 64 BY S/SHRI MANSINH PATEL ARADMSHETH THAKUR, TO BE ANSWERED IN LC SABHA ON 18-7-2002 REGARDING RAILWAY ZONES.
- (a): Yes, Sir.
- (b), (c) & (d) The details of jurisdictions zone-wise and their date of operationalisation are given as under:

S.No Railway Area of Jurisdiction Date of operational-isation

1. East Central Railway, Hajipur. Samastipur Divisions of Notified on 14.6.2002 Eastern Railway.

Danapur, Mughalsarai and Dhanbad

Sonpur and 01.10.2002
North

Divisions of Eastern Railway.

North Western Railway, Jaipur Bikaner and Jodhpur Divisions of Northern Railway. 01.10.2002 . Jaipur and Notified on 14.6.2002 Ajmer Divisions of Western Railway. East Cost Railway, Bhubaneswar . Khurda Road, Waltair and Sambalpur Divisions of 1.4.2003 Notified on 04.7.20020 South Eastern Railway South Western Railway, Hubli Bangalore and Mysore Divisions of Southern Railway. 01.4.2003 Notified on 04.7.2002 . Hubli Division of South Central Railway 5. West Central Railway, Jabalpur
Divisions of Central Railway. 01.4.2003 Jabalpur and Bhopal Notified on 04.7.2002 • Kota Division of Western Railway North Central Railway, Allahabad Allahabad Division 01.4.2003 of Northern Railway Notified on 04.7.2002 Jhansi Division of Central Railway Agra Division (New)

(e) An expenditure of approximately Rs.50 Crores has been incurred on new zones upto 31st March 2002.

South

7.South East Central Railway, Bilaspur . Nagpur 01.4.2003

(f) & (g) The Railway Reforms Committee (1984) had recommended creation of four new zones. Based on further review, Government has decided to set up new zones.

Nagpur and

- (h) Yes, Sir. The various Railway Federations have been opposing the setting up of new zones. However, since the notifications issued, we have not received any formal communication. As regards States, only Chief Minister, West Bengal had raised certain apprehensions, which have been allayed through a reply sent to him.
- (i) Government does not agree with their views.

Notified on 04.7.2002

Raipur Division (New)

Eastern Railway