## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2977
ANSWERED ON:21.03.2002
PANEL FOR IDENTIFICATION OF FREQUENCY OF FM RADIO STATIONS
ASHOK NAMDEORAO MOHOL

## Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether her Ministry has constituted any panel for identification of frequencies to set up FM radio stations in the second phase;
- (b) if so, whether the said panel has submitted its report to the Government; (
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government have identified the cities where F.M Radio stations are likely to be set up along with their frequencies; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof, name-wise and State-wise?

## **Answer**

THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SMT. SUSHMA SWARAJ)

- (a): A Committee had been constituted under the Chairman, BECIL for planning offrequencies for FM radio stations to be taken up in the second phase.
- (b): No Sir.
- (c): Does not arise.
- (d) & (e): In the proposal for setting up of FM radio stations in the private sector, 70 cities were identified where these stations were to be set up in the second phase. State-wise list of these cities is enclosed at Annexure. This list will be finalised on receipt of the recommendations of the Frequency Planning Committee and on the basis of the experience gained in the implementation of the phase-I of private FM stations.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN PARTS (d) & (e) OF LOK SABUMASTARRED QUESTION No.2977 FOR ANSWER C 21.03.2002

Proposed List of Cities of FM Radio Stations for Phase-II

```
S.No. Name of city Name of State/ U.T.
```

```
1 Port Blair Andaman & Nicobar Islands
2 Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh
3 Guntur Andhra Pradesh
4 Warrangal Andhra Pradesh
5 Rajamundry Andhra Pradesh
6 Nellore Andhra Pradesh
7 Itanagar Arunachal Pradesh
8 Gaya Bihar
9 Durg Chattisgarh
10 Silvasa Dadra & Nagar Haveli
11 Daman Daman
12 Surat
          Gujrat
13 Vadodra Gujrat
14 Bhavnagar Gujrat
15 Hissar Haryana
16 Karanal Haryana
17 Simla Himachal Pradesh
18 Jamshedpur Jharkhand
19 Dhanbad Jharkhand
```

20 Ranchi Jharkhand

22 Jammu J&K 23 Hubli Karnataka

21 Bokaro Steel City Jharkhand

- 24 Mangalore Karnataka
- 25 Belgaum Kanataka
- 26 Gulbarga Karnataka
- 27 Davangere Karnataka
- 28 Kozhikode Kerala
- 29 Kannur Kerala 30 Kollam Kerala
- 31 Kavaratti Laksha Dweep
- 32 Gwalior Madhya Pradesh 33 Ujjain Madhya Pradesh 34 Nasik Maharashstra

- 35 Sholpur Maharashstra 36 Amravati Maharashstra
- 37 Kolhapur Maharashstra 38 Bhiwandi Maharashstra
- 39 Sangli Maharashstra 40 Malegaon Maharashstra
- 41 Akola Maharashstra 42 Nanded Maharashstra 43 Imphal Manipur 44 Aizwal Mizoram

- 45 Kohima Nagaland
- 46 Rourkela Orrissa
- 47 Pondicherry Pondicherry
- 48 Amritsar Punjab 49 Jodhpur Rajasthan
- 50 Kota Rajasthan
- 51 Bikaner Rajasthan
- 52 Ajmer Rajasthan
- 53 Udaipur Rajasthan 54 Gangtok Sikkim 55 Erode Tamil Nadu 56 Salem Tamil Nadu

- 57 Vellore Tamil Nadu 58 Tiruppur Tamil Nadu

- 59 Tuticorin Tamil Nadu 60 Agartala Tripura 61 Dehradun Uttaranchal
- 62 Meerut Uttar Pradesh
- 63 Gorakhpur Uttar Pradesh
- 64 Aligarh Uttar Pradesh
- 65 Moradabad Uttar Pradesh 66 Saharanpur Uttar Pradesh
- 67 Jhansi Uttar Pradesh
- 68 Bareilly Uttar Pradesh 69 Asansol West Bengal 70 Durgapur West Bengal