GOVERNMENT OF INDIA SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EMPOWERMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3959 ANSWERED ON:19.04.2000 NATIONAL COMMISSIONS MOHAMMED SHAHABUDDIN

Will the Minister of SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EMPOWERMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of National Minority Commission, National Commission for Women, National Backward Commission and National Commission for the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes constituted to bring the minorities, women, backwards and Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes of the country in the mainstream of the country during the last five years, State-wise;
- (b) whether the aforesaid commissions have deviated from its objectives;
- (c) if so, whether the Government contemplate to make a comprehensive review of all these Commissions to make them more effective; and
- (d) if not, the details of the efforts made by the above said commission to minimize the social, economic and educational inequalities, State-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EMPOWERMENT

(SMT. MANEKA GANDHI)

- (a) National Commission for Minorities, National Commission for Women, National Commission for Backward Classes and National Commission for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes were set up/constituted by the Govt. of India with their headquarters at New Delhi to Safeguard the interest of the target groups. Details about these Commissions are annexed (Annexure I to IV).
- (b) No, Sir,
- (c) Does not arise.
- (d) The National Commissions keep a watch on the formulations of policy for the target groups and investigate, monitor and evaluate the performance of various schemes meant for the target groups to ensure that social, economic and educational inequalities are minimised.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3959 FOR 19.4.2000

ANNEXURE

I. National Commission for Minorities, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Market, New Delhi.

Composition of the National Commission for Minorities (as notified on 21.1.2000)

Justice Mohammed Shamim Chairperson
Shri Tarlochan Singh Vice-Chairperson
Lt. Gen.(Retd.) A.M. Sethna Member
Shri T.K. Lochen Tulku Member
Shri John Joseph Member
Mr. Shamim Kazim Member
Mr. Vijay Kumar Dar Member

II. National Commission for Women, 4, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Marg, New Delhi-110002.

- 1. Smt. Vibha Parthasarathi, Chairperson
- 2. Dr. Syeda S. Hameed Member
- 3. Smt. Vijay Daksh Member
- 4. Dr. Poornima Advani Member
- Smt. K. Santha Reddy Member
 Km. Anusuiya Uike Member
- III. National Commission for Backward Classes,
 Trikoot-I, Bhikaji Cama Place,
 New Delhi.

Composition of the Commission (as notified on 6.4.2000)

Shri M.S. Matharoo Member
Shri C.T. Benjamin Secretary (NCBC)
Posts vacant Members-2
chairperson-1

IV. National Commission for SCs and STs,
Vth Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan,
New Delhi.

Composition of the Commission (as notified on 30.6.1999)

Shri Dlip Singh Buria Chairperson
Shri Kameshwar Paswan Vice Chairperson
Ven. Lama Lobzang Member
Shri Harinder Khalsa Member
Shri Chotray Majhi Member
Shri M. Kannan Member (He has resigned.
Resignation is yet to be accepted)
Smt. Veena Nayyar Member

Branch Offices:

- S.No. Location Jurisdiction
- 1. Agartala Tripura
- 2. Ahmedabad Gujarat, Dadra & Nagar Haveli
- 3. Bangalore Karnataka
- 4. Bhopal Madhya Pradesh
- 5. Bhubaneshwar Orissa
- 6. Calcutta West Bengal, Sikkim

- 7 Chandigarh Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, J&K and Himachal Pradesh
- 8. Guwahati Assam, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland

- 9. Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh
 10. Jaipur Rajasthan
 11. Lucknow Uttar Pradesh
 12. Madras Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry
 13. Patna Bihar
 14. Pune Maharashtra, Goa, Daman & Diu
 15. Shillong Meghalaya & Mizoram
 16. Thiruvanthapuram Kerala & Lakshadweep