# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RURAL DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:765
ANSWERED ON:05.03.2002
TRANSFER OF ARWSP IMPLEMENTATION TO GRAM PANCHAYATS
SRIKANTA DATTA NARASIMHARAJA WADIYAR;UMMAREDDY VENKATESWARLU

### Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government propose to transfer the implementation of Accelerated Rural Water Supply Programme (ARWSP) to Gram Panchayats;
- (b) if so, the guidelines issued to the State Governments in this regard;
- (c) whether the Government propose to extend financial assistance to Panchayats to maintain protected drinking water supply schemes all over the country in view of the fact that the Panchayats are unable to maintain the drinking water schemes due to lack of funds:
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the steps taken by the Government in this regard.?

## **Answer**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI ANNASAHEB M. K. PATIL)

(a) to (e): Rural Water Supply being a State subject, the schemes for providing drinking water supply in rural areas are implemented by the State Governments with their own resources. The Central Government supplements the efforts of the States by providing funds under the Accelerated Rural Water Supply Programme (ARWSP) and the Drinking Water Supply component of the Prime Minister's Gramodaya Yojana (PMGY). The powers to plan, sanction and implement Rural Water Supply schemes underthe above programmes rests with the State Governments. Department of Drinking

Water Supply, Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India, release ARWSP funds to the State Governments. As per Article 243G of the Constitution of India the Legislature of a State may by law endow the Panchayats such powers and authority with respect to implementation of schemes listed in Eleventh Schedule which includes drinking water as one of 29 subjects. Therefore, the State Government are competent to transfer the ARWSP implementation to Gram Panchayats.

Funds under ARWSP are released to the State Governments, except in case of Sector Reform Projects.

Sector Reform Projects in Rural Water Supply Programme are being implemented based on the principles of demand-driven, decentralised and community-oriented approach. 63 districts in 26 States have been identified for implementing these Sector Reform Projects on pilot basis. Under these projects, the community is required to actively participate in planning, sanctioning, part funding, implementing, operating and maintaining and managing the rural water supply schemes including sources and systems. The Village Water and Sanitation Committee (VWSC) - a Committee of the Village Panchayat is responsible for the implementation and management of the drinking water supply schemes of their choice at the village level.

Under the Sector Reforms project, Government of India funds are released to the District implementing agencies {District Water and Sanitation Mission (DWSM) / Zilla Panchayat (ZP)}, who in turn provide funds to VWSCs for actual implementation of the water supply schemes. Projects for 62 districts have so far been sanctioned by Government of India. A statement indicating details of funds sanctioned, Government of India share and funds released to the pilot districts is attached as Annex.

#### Annex

Statement referred to in para (a) to (e) of LSUSQ No. 765 for reply of 05.03.2002

Statement indicating details of funds sanctioned, GOI share and funds released to Sector Reform Pilot districts

Sl.No Name of dist. Name of the State Aproved GOI Funds
Project Share released
Cost

```
1 Chittoor Andhra Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
2 Khammam Andhra Pradesh 3753.00 3509.00 1052.70
3 Nalgonda Andhra Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
4 Nellore Andhra Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
5 Prakasam Andhra Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
6 Lohit Arunachal Pradesh 900.00 841.50 252.45
7 West Siang Arunachal Pradesh 700.00 654.50 196.35
8 Jorhat Assam 1275.00 1188.60 356.58
9 Kamrup Assam 1000.00 935.00 280.50
10 Sonitpur Assam 1181.00 1103.49 331.04
11 Vaishali Bihar 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
12 Durg Chattisgarh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
13 Mehsana Gujarat 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
14 Rajkot Gujarat 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
15 Surat Gujarat 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
16 Karnal Haryana 1507.00 1409.05 422.71
17 Yamuna Nagar Haryana 986.18 922.08 276.62
18 Sirmour Himachal Pradesh 2005.00 1857.50 557.25
19 Srinagar Jammu & Kashmir 2511.00 2347.79 704.33 20 Udhampur Jammu & Kashmir 2500.00 2250.00 675.00
21 Dhanbad Jharkhand 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
22 Bellary Karnataka 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
23 Mangalore Karnataka 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
24 Mysore Karnataka 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
25 Kasaragod Kerala 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
26 Kollam Kerala 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
27 Gwalior Madhya Pradesh 2927.94 2737.62 821.29
28 Hoshangabad Madhya Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
29 Narsinghpur Madhya Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
30 Raisen Madhya Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
31 Sehore Madhya Pradesh 1795.00 1678.15 503.44
32 Amravati Maharashtra 2126.00 1973.50 592.05
33 Dhule Maharashtra 3952.78 3692.96 1107.88
34 Nanded Maharashtra 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00 35 Raigad Maharashtra 3793.00 3473.80 1042.14
36 Ri-Bhoi Meghalaya 975.11 907.01 272.10
37 Serchhip Mizoram 268.98 248.17 148.90 ++
38 Dimapur Nagaland 594.00 555.39 166.61
39 Balasore Orissa 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00 40 Ganjam Orissa 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
41 Sundergarh Orissa 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00 42 Bhatinda Punjab 752.19 700.95 210.28
43 Moga Punjab 344.00 321.44 96.43
44 Muktsar Punjab 3992.80 3733.27 1119.98
45 Alwar Rajasthan 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
46 Rajsamand + Rajasthan 0.00 0.00 0.00
47 Jaipur Rajasthan 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
48 Sikkar Rajasthan 2171.00 1986.05 595.81
49 Sikkim South Sikkim 1322.48 1210.07 363.02
50 Sikkim West Sikkim 892.35 816.50 244.95
51 Coimbatore Tamilnadu 4000.00 3740.00 2244.00 ++
52 Cuddalore Tamilnadu 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
53 Perambalur Tamilnadu 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
54 Vellore Tamilnadu 4000.00 3740.00 1422.00 ++
55 West Tripura Tripura 2819.40 2566.90 770.07 56 Agra Uttar Pradesh 3000.00 2805.00 841.50
57 Chandauli Uttar Pradesh 2500.00 2337.50 701.25
58 Lucknow Uttar Pradesh 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
59 Mirzapur Uttar Pradesh 3000.00 2805.00 841.50
60 Sonebhadra Uttar Pradesh 2500.00 2337.50 701.25
61 Midnapur West Bengal 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
62 N. 24 Parganas West Bengal 4000.00 3740.00 1122.00
63 Haridwar Uttaranchal 4000.00 3740.00 300.00
```

Total 186045.21 52749.99

<sup>+</sup> Rajsamand has been identified by Govt. of Rajasthan in place of Barmer and the project report has been received