GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:876 ANSWERED ON:06.03.2002 OPENING OF NEW POST OFFICES IN KERALA K. MURALEEDHARAN

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

(a) the New Post Office proposed to be opened in Kerala State during year 2002-2003;

(b) whether the Government have taken any steps for the modernisation of existing Post Offices in the Kerala State; and

(c) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI SIKDAR)

(a) The opening of new post offices in Kerala State during the year 2002-2003 will depend upon fulfillment of prescribed norms and availability of requisite resources .

(b) Yes, sir.

(c) The details of post offices modernized in Kerala State are given in Annexure.

Annexure

THE DETAILS OF POST OFFICES MODERNISED IN KERALA STATE

1994-95

1. Nadakkavu Sub Office 2 Trivandrum Medical College Sub Office

1995-1996

1. Aluva Sub Office 2. Calicut Beach Sub Office

3. Calicut Head Office 4. Chandranagar Sub Office

5. Edappally Sub Office 6. Elathur Sub Office

7 Ernakulam Sub Office 8. Eranjupalam Head Office

9. Eranjupalam M.G. Road Sub Office 10. Kallai Sub Office

11. Kollam Head Office 12. Kottyam Head Office

13. Mattanchery Sub Office
14. Pathanamthitta Head Office
15. Peroorkada Sub Office
16. Shanmugham Road Sub Office
17. Sheranur Sub Office
18. Tiruvalla Head Office

19. Trichur High Road Sub Office 20. Vikas Bhawan Sub Office

21. West Hill Sub Office

1. Alleppey Midical College Sub Office 2. Ayyanthole Sub Office 3. Chengannur Head Office 4. Cochin Sub Foreogn PO Sub Office 5. Ernakulam Sub Office 6. Ettumanur Sub Office 7 Kannur Head Office 8. Kassargod Head Office 9. Kottarakkara Head Office 10. Kunnamangalam Sub Office 11. Manacaud sub Office 12. Pattampi Sub Office 13. Perinthalmanna Sub Office 14. Punalur Head Office 15. Quilandi Head Office 16. Tellicherry Head Office 17. Trichur City Sub Office 18. Tirpunuthara Sub Office 19. Trivandrum GPO Head Office 20. Trivandrum University 1997-98 1. Ernakulam North Sub Office 2. Kakkand Sub Office 3. Kaloor Sub Office 4. Kochi Head Office 5. Muttada Sub Office 6. Nemon Sub Office 7 Neyyattinkara Head Office 8. Palakkad Head Office 9. Trivandrum Fort Sub Office 10. Trivandrum ISRO Sub Office 11. Willington Island Sub Office 1998-99 1. Attingal Head Office 2. Irinjalkuda Head Office 3. Vadakara Head Office 1999-2000 1. Adur 2. Kottyam Collectorate 3. Ottapalam

2000-2001

1. Olauakott Head Office 2. Changanassery Head Office

3. Perumbavoor Head Office 4. Kazhakuttom Sub Office

5. Parassala Sub Office

2001-2002

1. Karunagappally 2. Trissur

3. Alleppey 4. Cherthala

5. Paloi 6. Mavelikara

7 Taliparamba 8. Kanhanged