## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EMPOWERMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4009 ANSWERED ON:19.04.2000 DAVE COMMITTEE BASUDEB ACHARIA;BIKASH CHOWDHURY

## Will the Minister of SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EMPOWERMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Dave Committee interviewed some experts before finalizing its recommendations;
- (b) if so, the names of the Experts and their designations;
- (c) whether any one from the Ministry of Lobour or Central Trade Unions were invited to appear before the Committee; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EMPOWERMENT (SMT. MANEKA GANDHI)

- (a) Yes, Sir.
- (b) A statement showing the names of the Experts and their designations is laid on the Table of the House.
- (c) Yes, Sir. The Central Provident Fund Commissioner, Late Shri R. S. Kaushik was a Member of the Project OASIS Experimental Committee. The Secretary (Ministry of Labour) was invited to participate at all conferences and seminars where the other experts were invited.
- (d) Does not arise.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4009 FOR 19.4.2000 BY S/SHRI BI CHOWDHURY AND BASUDEB ACHARIA REGARDING DAVE COMMITTEE

Shri/Smt./Kum.

Maneka Gandhi Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
Minister of State (IC) Government of India

Asha Das Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment Secretary Government of India

B.K. Chaturvedi Ministry of Finance, Government of India Special Secretary - Insurance Government of India

D.R. Mehta Securities and Exchange Board of India Chairman

Devi Dayal Ministry of Finance Special Secretary (Banking) Government of India

Lakshmidhar Mishra Ministry of Labour Secretary Government of India N. Rangachary Insurance Regulatory & Development Chairman Authority Government of India

Late R.S. Kaushik Ministry of Labour Central Provident Fund Commissioner

P. S. Subramanium Unit Trust of India

Aodiiti Mehtta Prime Minister`s Office Joint Secretary to the Prime Minister Government of India

S.A. Dave Project OASIS Expert Committee Chairman

Y.V. Reddy Reserve Bank of India Deputy Governor

A.P. Kurian  $\;\;$  Association of Mutual Funds of India Chairman

Jaimini Bhagwati Ministry of Finance Joint Secretary Government of India Department of Economic Affairs

A.P. Singh Ministry of Communications Director (Savings Bank) Government of India

S.C. Pandey Ministry of Finance Director (Budget)

Ajay Shah IGIDR Assistant Professor

Ashok Lahiri National Institute of Public Finance & Policy Director

Basudeb Sen Unit Trust of India Executive Director

Ajay Srinivasan Prudential ICICI AMC Managing Director

Ajay M. Kaul Alliance Capital Management President & Country Manager

Anand Bordia UNDCP - India Project Manager Richard P. Hinz U.S. Department of Labour Director - Office of Policy & Research Pension & Welfare Benefits Administration

Ashok Desai Business Standard Consultant Editor

 ${\tt C.B.}$  Bhave  ${\tt National}$  Securities Depository Limited Managing Director

C.S. Rao Ministry of Finance Joint Secretary (Insurance)

 ${\tt D.N.}$  Raval  $\,\,$  Securities and Exchange Board of India Executive Director

Euan Ross Macdonald HSBC Securities India Executive Vice Chairman

 ${\tt G.}$  Krishnamurthy  $\$  Life Insurance Corporation of India Chairman

G.V. Nageshwar Rao  $\;\;$  IDBI Capital Market Services Managing Director

Girija Pande ANZ Grindlays Bank Director, Head of Funds Management

Hemant Sahai J. Sagar Associates Partner

Juan Costain The World Bank

Economist

Juan Yermo OECD

Consultant

M. Vijayanunni Registrar General & Census Commissioner

(India)

Mukul Asher University of Singapore Professor of Finance

Peter Thorman USAID Program Officer

Pravin Visaria Institute of Economic Growth Director

Prithvi Haldea PRIME Data Base Managing Director

R. Ravimohan CRISIL Managing Director

 $\ensuremath{\mathsf{R.H.}}$  Patil  $$\mathsf{National}$$  Stock Exchange of India Managing Director

Rajendra P. Chitale  $\,$  M.P. Chitale & Co. Managing Partner  $\,$ 

 ${\tt M.K.}$  Tandon  ${\tt General}$  Insurance Corporation of India Managing Director

Robert Palacios The World Bank Economist

S.H. Bhojani ICICI Limited Executive Director

Sanjay Sachdev Principal Financial Group Global Manager India

Surjit Bhalla O[x]us Research & Investment President

Susan Thomas Indira Gandhi Institute of Assistant Professor Development Research

T.S. Laschar Ministry of Finance Additional Economic Advisor

 $\mbox{ Urjit R. Patel } \mbox{ Infrastructure Development Finance Co. } \mbox{ Executive Vice President }$ 

Y.H. Malegam S.B. Billimoria & Co. Managing Partner

Ajay Mahal National Council of Applied Economic Principal Economist Research

Ajit M. Sharan Ministry of Finance, Government of India Joint Secretary (Insurance)

Alok Kumar Ministry of Finance, Government of India Director (Banking)

Ashok K. Jha USAID Regional Urban Development Office Atul Chaturvedi Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment Deputy Secretary Government of India

B.N. Som Ministry of Communications Member (Operations) Government of India Postal Services Board

Babni Lal Ministry of Rural Development Joint Director (NSAP) Government of India

Brian Arrighi Prudential Corporation Plc Head of Group Policy Development

Dileep Madgavkar Prudential ICICI AMC Chief Investment Officer

Deepak Satwalekar HDFC Limited Managing Director

Dharmendra Deo Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment Joint Secretary Government of India

Gautam Bhardwaj Invest India Economic Foundation Managing Director

Hemant Rustagi ING Investment Management Head - Marketing

K. Subrahmanyam Insurance Regulatory Development Authority Actuary

Nihal Kothari Hindustan Lever Limited Head of Taxation Norman R. Sorensen Principal International, Inc President

P.S. Subramanyam Unit Trust of India Chairman

P.C. Gupta Life Insurance Corporation of India Executive Director (Actuarial)

R. Renganath Ministry of Finance Director (Insurance)

Raj Pratap Singh Prime Minister`s Office Director Government of India

Richard Monteverde Asian Development Bank Financial Economist

S.N. Mathur Asian Institute of Transport Development

Shigeko Hattori Asian Development Bank Financial/Capital Market Specialist

Ajit Ranade ICRIER

Economist

Ashok Wadhwa Ambit Corporate Finance

Managing Partner

John Bowman Commercial Union Group Head of Pensions Development

Nalin Thakor Project OASIS Expert Committee

Member

Sudha Pilla Ministry of Rural Areas and Employment

Joint Secretary Government of India

Kalpana Morparia ICICI Limited

General Manager

P.M. Bhujang Harkishondas N. Hospital Medical Director and Research Centre

Richard Overton ITC Threadneedle Managing Director

Tim Beardsall Commercial Union

Life Actuary

Vinod Kumar W.H.O. Expert Advisory Panel

Member

C.R. Karode Mahindra & Mahindra

General Manager

N. Nagarajan Reserve Bank of India

Advisor

Alberto Musalem The World Bank

Pensions Economist

Rajiv Vij Templeton AMC

Chief Executive

S. Kuppuswami Unit Trust of India

General Manager