GOVERNMENT OF INDIA YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1444
ANSWERED ON:27.11.2001
NATIONAL SPORTS TALENT CONTEST SCHEME
N.T. SHANMUGAM

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is a vast scope to promote genetically gifted and physically fit children in remote and isolated hilly regions in the age group of 8-12 years and groom them in Sports Authority of India's adopted schools in the country under the National Sports Talent Contest Scheme;
- (b) if so, the steps taken or being taken in this regard during the last three years and the current year;
- (c) whether the Government have set any target about wider coverage/publicity to these regions;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the names of States/Union Territories where this scheme is in operation?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS (SHRI PON. RADHAKIRISHNAN)

(a) to (d): The scheme of National Sports Talent Contest (NSTC) is designed to nurture genetically gifted and physically fit children in the age group of 8-14 years and groom them scientifically in SAI adopted schools. Selection to the scheme both from hilly as well as plain areas is based on a battery of tests to identify children endowed with good motor qualities and physical growth, having future potential for excellence subject to age verification and medical fitness. The selected trainees are given scientific trainings in one of the ten identified disciplines of athletics, badminton, basket ball, foot ball, gymnastics, hockey, swimming, table tennis, volley ball and wrestling.

The details of the number of schools/Akharas and medals won by the trainees of NSTC for the last three years is given below:

Year No. of trainees No. of Schools/Akharas No. of Medals won

National International

1998-1999	1033	33	38	03		
1999-2000	1094		33	42	09	
2000-2001	905		34		29	11

- (e) The scheme is in operation in the following States/Union Territories:-
- (i) Andhra Pradesh
- (ii) Arunachal Pradesh
- (iii) Assam
- (iv) Bihar
- (v) Chandigarh

(vi) Delhi (vii) Goa (viii) Gujarat (ix) Haryana (x) Jharkhand (xi) Karnataka (xii) Kerala (xiii) Madhya Pradesh (xiv) Maharashtra (xv) Manipur (xvi) Meghalaya (xvii) Nagaland (xviii) Orissa (xix) Punjab (xx) Rajasthan (xxi) Tamil Nadu (xxii) Tripura

(xxiii) Uttar Pradesh

(xxiv) West Bengal