## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA** TOURISM AND CULTURE **LOK SABHA**

**UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5202** ANSWERED ON:21.12.2000 2600TH BIRTH ANNIVERSARY OF LORD MAHAVIRA VILAS BABURAO MUTTEMWAR

## Will the Minister of TOURISM AND CULTURE be pleased to state:

to the reply given to Unstarred Question No.776 on November 23. 2000 regarding 2600th Birth Anniversary ofLord Mahavira and state:

- (a) the details of composition f or the National Committee;
- (b) the names of the members nominated on the Drafting Committee;
- (c) the names since added or removed from the National Committee and Drafting Committee;
- (d) whether the National Committee and the Drafting Committee have held any meeting so far;
- (e) if so. the date and purpose of the meetings held so far;
- (f) the draft programme of the celebrations drawn up in this regard; and
- (g) the suggestions received from Jains or any other body or individual for the proposed celebration?

## **Answer**

## THE MINISTER OF TOURISM AND CULTURE (SHRI ANANTH KUMAR)

(a) to (g) A National Committee comprising 59 members was initially constituted. 8 more members have been included in the Committee. A list of the members is attached. The first meeting of the National Committee was held under the chairmanship of Prime Minister on 9th December. 2000 to discuss about organising the celebrations. A number of suggestions were received during the meeting involving joint efforts by Government of India, State Governments and Jain Community. No Drafting Committee has been constitute

Statement referred to in reply to parts(a) to (g) of the Question No.5202 for reolv on 21.t December. 2000.

List of Members of the National Committee constituted to celebrate 2600 year Tirtbankara Mahavira's lanma Kalyanak.

1. Prime Minister of India Chairman 2. Union Minister for Tourism & Culture Vice-Chainnan 3. Union Minister for External Affairs Member 4. Union Minister ofHome Affairs Member 5. Union Minister of Finance Member Union Minister for Communication Member 7 Shri Sunder Lal Patwa, Union Minister for Rural Development Member 8. Union Minister of State for Infonnation & Broadcasting Member 9. Union Minister of State for Social Justice & Empowennent Member 10. Shri Dhananjay Kumar, Union Minister of State for Textiles Member 11. Shri Sundar Singh Bhandari, Governor, Gujarat Member

Member

Member

12. Chief Minister, Punjab Member

16. Chief Minister, Madhya Pradesh

14. Chief Minister, Karnataka Member
15. Chief Minister, Gujarat Member

13. Chief Minister, Bjhar

```
17. Chief Minister, Maharashtra Member
                                                Member
18. Chief Minister, Rajasthan Member
19. Chief Minister, Delhi Member
20. Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh Member
21. Dr. L.M. Singhvi, M.P. Member
21. Dr. L.M. Singhvi, 22. Shri Dipchand Gardi Mer
23. Shri MC. Shah Member
24 Smt 1ndu Jain Member
26. Shri Shrenikbhai Kasturbhai Member 27. Shri Bai Memb
                                               Member
27. Shri Raj Kumar Jain Member
28. Sbri Virenura neguc
29. Shri S.P. Jain Member
28. Sbri Virendra Hegde
                                        Member
31. Shri Hulaschand Golecha` Member
32. Shri Hastimal Munot
33. Dr. Mahendra Pandya, NRI Member
34. Shri C.K. lain, Ex.Secretary General, LS
                                                                 Member
35. Shri Mangilal Sethia Member
36. Shri K.L. Jain Member
37. Shri Bannechang Maloo Member
                                      Member
38. Shri L.L. Achchha
39. Shri Pradeep Kumar Kashlival
                                                    Member
40. Shri Charukirti Bhattaraka
                                                Member
41. Smt. Kamla Ham Pa Nagaraiiah
                                                  Member
42. Shri Laxmi Chand Kothari Member
43. Shri Sankalchand Bagrecha Member
44. Shri Ninnal Chand Jain Member
45. Shri Sampat Raj Gadhia Member
46. Shri Gyan Raj Mehta Member
47. Shri Manohar Chaijed Member
48. Dr. M.R. Thanga, MLC
49. Shri D.R Mehta
50. Prof. Rinpoche
Monday
51. Dr. Ratiq Zakaria Member
52. Bhai Todh C
                                 Member
Member
Member
52. Bhai Jodh Singh Member
53. Dr. Karan Singh Member
54. Dr. B.K. Modi Member
55. Shri V.H. Dalmia Melnber
56. Maulana Wahididdin-Jamia
57. Arch Bishop of Delhi Member
58. Shri Vijay Darda, MP
59. Shri Lalit Mehta, MP
                                        Member
Member
60. Shri Dilip Gandhi, MP Member
61. Shri Pushap Jain, MP Member
62. Shri Naresh Puglia, MP Member
                                          Member
                                          Member
63. Shri Dhirubhai Shalli Speaker, Gujarat Legislative Assembly Member
64. Shri Prakashbhai Jhaveri of Mumbai Member
65. Shri Vasantllbhai Khokhani of Rajkot Member
```

65. Shri Vasantllbhai Khokhani of Rajkot 66. Secretary - Culture Member

67. Joint Secretary - Culture Member - Secretary