## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RURAL DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4278
ANSWERED ON:20.04.2000
NATIONAL WASTELAND DEVELOPMENT BOARD
NANDIPAKU VENKATASWAMY

## Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the National Wasteland Development Board is functioning with its full strength;
- (b) if not, the reasons therefor;
- (c) the details of the members of the present Board; and
- (d) the details of projects which are undertaken under the Wasteland Development Scheme?

## **Answer**

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (DEPARTMENT LAND RESOURCES)

(A RAJA)

- (a) to (c) The composition of the National Wasteland Board (reconstituted as on 31.12.1998) is gibven at Annexure. Since the term of the nominated members of the board has expired, it cannot be said to be functioning with its full strength.
- (a) 73 projects covering an area OF 7.01 lakh hectares involving a total cost of Rs.280.40 crore have been sanctioned under Integrated Wastelands Development Programme (IWDP), during the year 1999-2000.

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a) to (c) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.4278 due for reply on 20.4.2000

Composition of Reconstituted National Wastelands Development Board

(as on 31.12.1998) Ex-officio Members :

- 1.Minister for Rural Areas & Employment Chairman
- 2. Member, Planning Commission Member
- 3.Secretary, D/o. Agriculture and Cooperation  $\,$  Member Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 4.Secretary, D/o. Rural Development Member Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 5.Secretary, D/o. Agricultural Research & Member Education, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 6.Secretary, D/o. Expenditure Member North Block, New Delhi.
- 7. Secretary, M/o. Environment and Forests Member

9. Secretary, D/o Animal Husbandry and  $\hfill Member Dairying$ 

10.Chairman (NABARD) Member

Nominated Members :

(i) Members of Parliament

11.Shri Gordhanbhai Javia Member Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) C/o Lok Sabha Secretariat Parliament House, New Delhi.

12.Shri Bhagaban Majhi Member Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) C/o Rajya Sabha Secretariat Parliament House, New Delhi.

(ii) Non-official NGOs, Cooperative Institutions

13.Mrs. Nirmala Buch Member E-4/17, Girish Kunj Arera Colony, Bhopal.

14.Dr. G. Hedge President Bhartiya Agro Industries Ltd. Dr. Mani Bhai Desai Nagar National Highway No.4 Warje, Pune-411029.

15.Shri Anil Aggarwal Member Director, Centre for Science and Environment, 41-Tughlakabad Industrial Area Near Batra Hospital New Delhi-110062.

16.Shri Arunkumar C. Patil Member `Arunodaya` Chandrashekar Patil Nagar Gulbarga-585102

17.Shri S. Parameshwarappa Member 189, 12th Cross 3rd main RMV-II Stage Bangalore-560094. 18.Development Commissioner Member Govt. of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad

19.Development Commissioner Member Govt. of Bihar, Patna

20.Development Commissioner Member Govt. of Assam, Guwahati

Member Secretary :

21.Secretary Member Secretary D/o Wastelands Development M/o Rural Areas & Employment Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi.