# **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA** COMMUNICATIONS **LOK SABHA**

**UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3496** ANSWERED ON:17.04.2000 TELEPHONE EXCHANGES IN ORISSA BHARTRUHARI MAHTAB; PRABHAT KUMAR SAMANTARAY; PRASANNA KUMAR PATASANI

## Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of telephone exchanges functioning in Orissa with their capacity particularly in Cuttack at present, district-wise;
- (b) whether the Government propose to enhance the capacity of the existing telephone exchanges in the State and the said district during 2000-2001;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, district-wise;
- (d) the funds allocated for the purpose for the said period;
- (e) whether a telephone exchange which was sanctioned for Malipada under Khurda district in the State has been installed so far;
- (f) if not, the reasons therefor; and (g) the time by which it is likely to be set up? \*\*\*\*\*

## **Answer**

#### MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS

(SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR)

- (a) At present 862 exchanges with total capacity of 526061 lines are functioning in Orissa. The District-wise details are given in Annexure.
- (b) Yes, Sir.
- (c) The details are given in the Annexure.
- (d) The Demands for Grant for the year 2000-2001 are yet to be approved by the Parliament. The funds for setting up new telephone exchanges and modernizing the existing exchanges in Orissa for the year 2000-2001 will be fixed only after the Demands for Grants for the year 2000-2001 are approved by the Parliament.
- (e), (f) & (g) Malipada falls under the local area of Jankia exhange. All the 30 applicants have been given telephone connections by laying underground cable from Jankia to Malipada.

STATEMENT IN RESPECT OF PARTS (a) & (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3496 FOR 17TH APRIL, REGARDING TELEPHONE EXCHANGES IN ORISSA.

### **ANNEXURE**

```
Sl. Name of District No. of exchanges Equipped capacity Capacity addition
             during 2000-2001
No.
```

```
1. Balase-
2. Bhadrak 27
""anada 10
                44 24436
                                 6000
                      12472
                                 5000
                       3792
                                 2000
4. Kalahandi 23
5. Dhenkanal 32
                      11212
12648
                                  3000
                                  4000
6. Angul 32 25048 6000
7 Keonjhar 33 15054 3000
                26 22485
8. Sambalpur
9. Bargarh 35 11748
```

11. Deogarh 4 1544 500 48 61272 15000 12. Cuttack

10. Jharsuguda 15 12040 4500

3000

TOTAL 862 526061 145000