GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMUNICATIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5361 ANSWERED ON:23.04.2001 BATTERY OPERATED TELEPHONE RAMDAS RUPALA GAVIT

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the villages in Dhule district of Maharashtra where battery operated telephone based on Tower System have been set up;

- (b) the number of telephones out of order in the said district as on March 31, 2001;
- (c) whether the system has not been successful;
- (d) if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (e) the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR)

(a) The names of VPTs working on MARR system in Dhule District of Mahrasthra Telecom Circle is enclosed in Annexure.

(b) 75 number of MARR VPTs are out of order in Dhule District as on 31/03/2001.

(c) & (d): The functioning of MARR VPTs has not been fully satisfactory.

The main reasons are:-

(i) Reliability of MARR VPT System is not up to the mark.

(ii) Un-Reliable Power Supply at the village level are also responsible for the high VPT Fault rate.VPTs which depend on power supply for re-charging of their Battery are more susceptible to faults due to the extended period of power failure and subsequent non-charging of Batteries.

(iii) Maintenance problems due to non-availability of proper approach roads to reach the VPT locations.

(iv) Poor maintenance support from suppliers.

(e) The following steps have been taken to ensure smooth functioning of the VPTs:-

1. Testing of VPTs are carried out daily from the exchange. Any VPT not responding on two consecutive days are being treated as faulty.

2. Testing of MARR links are carried out daily from the base Station.

3. Meter readings are checked fortnightly and low reading is taken as an indication of the system not performing properly and are being specially checked.

4. VPT holders have been asked to book their fault at telephone exchange/JTO in charge.

- 5. Repair centres are in process of being set-up in each circle.
- 6. AMC has been entered into with many suppliers of the system.
- 7. SSA Heads are holding meetings with villagers to sort out the grievances.
- 8. Flying squads have been constituted at circle/TCHQ level.

9. Following new technologies are being tried in the network for induction:

- WLL (Wireless in Local Loop)

- C-DOT -TDMA PMP System (C-DOT developed Time Division Multi Access Point to Multipoint system)

- Satellite Base Terminals for remote and inaccessible areas.

10 Unserviceable MARR System are proposed to be replaced.

ANNEXURE

NAMES OF VPT ON MARR SYSTEM IN DHULE DISTRICT

MAHARASHTRA TELECOM CIRCLE

(Ltr. NO. CGMT/MH/CS/PQ/DY. NO. 5361/13th LS/VI/2001 DT. 19/4/2001)

SL. No.

VPT NAME

(SDCA- (SDCA- (SDCA- (SDCA (SDCA-SHIRPUR) (SDC	:A-
SINDKHEDA) KUSUMBA) SAKRI) -PIMPALNER) DHULE)	
,,,,	
1 ACHCHHI AMODE AICHALE AMALI ADHE AJANG	
2 AKADSA CHHAVADI AKKALPADA CHIPIPADA AHILYAPUR AJNALE	
3 AMALTHE GHANEGAON AMBEMOHAR DAPUR AJANAD AMDAD	
4 AMARALE HATTI BK ASTANE DHOLIPADA AMBE ANCHADE	
5 ARAVE LAMKANI BALSANE DHOLIVIHIR BHORTEK ARNI	
6 BABHALDE LONKHEDE BEHAD DHONGADE BORGAON BABHULWADI	
7 BHILANED BURUDKHE JAMKHEL BORPANI BALHANE	
8 CHANDGAD CHINCKHEDA JAMZIRA CHAKDU DAHYANE	
9 CHIMTHAWAL CHIPALIPADA KADWALE CHANDPURI DHAMANE	
10 DASWEL DARKHEL KHANDBARA CHANDSE DHANDANE	
11 DEGAON DATARTI KOKANGAON CHANDSURYA DIWANMALA	
12 DHAVADE DEVJIPADA LAGADWAL DAVLIVIHIR GADUTAR	
13 DONGARGAON DHANGAI MACHMAL DONDWADE GOTANE	
14 HISPUR DHAVALIVIHIR MAUJIPADA FATTEPUR HARANMAL	
15 HOL P B DOMKANI MOHANE GARTAD HENKALWADI	
16 HUMBARDE HATTI KH. PARGAON HATED HINGANE	
17 JAKHANE ISARDE SELBARI JAITPUR JUNNAR	
18 JASANE JAIBHIM SHEWAGE JALOD KALKHEDE	
19 KALGAON JAMBHORE SITARAMPUR JAMNIYAPANI KASVIHIR	
20 KALMADI JAMDA SUKAPUR JAMNYAPADA KUNDANE (WAR)	
21 KAMKHEDE JAMKIKADHARE VIRKHEL JAPORE MORSHEWADI	
22 KAMPUR KADHARE ZANZALE JATHODE NANDANE	
23 KANCHANPUR KURUSWADE JOHIDE NARVHAL 24 KHARDE BK KUTTARMARE JUNISANGVI NIMKHEDI	
24 KHARDE BK KUTTARMARE JUNISANGVI NIMKHEDI 25 KUMBHARE MAHATMAPUR KHAMBALE PADALDE	
26 LOHGAONMAHIRKHURKHALI RANMALA27 MHALSARNADSELAUKI RAVER28 NEVADENAGPURMANJARI SADGAON29 PARSOLENAVAPADAMANJARIBARDI SANJORI	
27 MIAIDAN NADDE HAONI NAVEN 28 NEVADE NACEUR MANJARI SADCAON	
29 PARSOLE NAVAPADA MANJARTBARDT SANJORT	
30 PIMPARKHEDA NILGAVHAN MUKHEDI SAUNDANE 31 RAHIMPUR PANGAN NANDARDE SAWALDE 32 RANJANE PANHALIPADA NIMZARI SAWALI 33 REWADI PEREJPUR PARSHIPADA SAYANE	
31 RAHIMPUR PANGAN NANDARDE SAWALDE	
32 RANJANE PANHALIPADA NIMZARI SAWALI	
33 REWADI PEREJPUR PARSHIPADA SAYANE	
34 SAHUR PETALE PILODE SUKWAD PR	
DANGART	
35 SARVE PHOPADE PIMPRI TAMASWADI	
35 SARVE PHOPADE PIMPRI TAMASWADI 36 SATARE PINJARZADI ROHINI TIKHI	
37 SHENWADERAIPURRUDAWALI TISGAON38 SONDALERAJANIPADASAMARIYAPADAUDANE	
38 SONDALE RAJANIPADA SAMARIYAPADA UDANE	
39 SONEWADI SALTEK TAJPURI VAJIRKHEDA	
40 SURAYSATMANETEMBHE BK VARKHEDE41 TAMTHARESAYYADNAGARUKHALWADI WADEL42 TAWKHEDA PNSURPANUPPARPIND	
41 TAMTHARE SAYYADNAGAR UKHALWADI WADEL	
42 TAWKHEDA PN SURPAN UPPARPIND	
43 VADADE TAMASWADI VANAWAL 44 VADLI TEMBHE VARZADI	
45 VAGHODE TITANE WAGBARDA	
46 VAIPUR UMBRANDI WAKPADA	
47 VALKHEDE VARDHANE	
48 VARZADI VARSUS 49 VASMANE VASANTNAGAR	
50 VIKHURLE VASDARE 51 VIKWEL ZIRANIPADA	
51 VIRWEL ZIRANIPADA 52 WAGHADI KH	
53 ZIRVE	
54 ZOTWADE	

TANDA

TANDA