GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1468 ANSWERED ON:03.03.2000 GROWTH CENTRES AKBOR ALI KHANDOKER

Will the Minister of COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the centrally sponsored scheme of Growth Centres was proposed during the Eighth Plan Period;
- (b) if so, the details of funding pattern of the scheme;
- (c): the number of Growth Centres opened during the Eighth Plan Period together with their location;
- (d): the extent to which these Growth Centres achieved their main objectives; and
- (e): the number of new Growth Centres proposed to be set up during the Ninth Plan period?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY (DR. RAMAN SINGH)

- (a): The Growth Centre Scheme was announced by the Government of India in 1988.
- (b): As per financing pattern for growth centres, the Central Government is to contribute Rs.10 crore (Rs.15 crore in the case of North Eastern States) for each growth centre by way of equity and the balance is to be borne by the State Governments/implementing agencies.
- (c) to (e): Under the Growth CentreScheme 71 growth centres are proposed to be developed throughout the country out of which 68 Growth Centres have been approved by the Central Government so far. A List of growth centres approved during the Eighth and the Ninth Plan period together with their locations is at Annexure. According to the information furnished by the State Governments, out of the 28 growth centres approved during the Eighth Plan period, distribution of plots has commenced in 8 and investment and employment generated in 5. The remaining growth centres are at various stages of development.

Annexure

Statement referred to in reply to parts (c) to (e) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1468 for answer on 03.03.2000.

Number of growth centres approved during Eighth Plan & Ninth Plan period.

A. Eighth Plan (1992-93 to 1996-97):

```
Sl.No. Name of State, Growth Centre ( District)

1 ANDHRA PRADESH: Khammam (Khammam)

2. GOAElectronic- City (Verna-Plateau)
```

- 3. GUJARATGandhidham (Kutch)
- 4. Palanpur (Banaskantha)
- 5. Vagra (Bharauch)
- 6. MADHYA PRADESH:Satlapur (Raisen)

```
7 RAJASTHAN: Dholpur (Dholpur)
8. Jhalawar (Jhalawar )
9. TAMILNADUErode (Periyar)
10. UTTAR PRADESHBachauli- Buzurg (Jhansi)
11. Banthara (Shahjahanpur )
12. Chaudharpur (Moradabad )
13. Khurja (Bulandshahr)
14. Satharia (Jaunpur )
15. Shajanwa (Gorakhpur)
16. KERALAKannur- Kozhikode (Kannur- Kozhikode)
17. Alappuzha- Malappuram ( Alappuzha-Malappuram)
18. BIHARBegusarai ( Begusarai )
19. Hazaribagh (Hazaribagh )
20. Bhagalpur (Bhagalpur)
21. Chhapra (Chhapra)
22. Muzaffarpur (Muzaffarpur)
23. HIMACHAL PRADESHKangra (Kangra)
24. ORISSAChhatrapur (Ganjam)
25. Kalinganagar - Duburi ( Cuttack )
26. WEST BENGALBolpur ( Birbhum)
27. Jalpaiguri (Jalpaiguri )
28. Malda (Malda )
B. NINTH PLAN (1997-98 to 2001-2002):
29. ARUNACHAL PRADESHNiklok-Ngorlung (East Siang)
30. ASSAMMatia (Goalpara)
31. Chariduar ( Sonitpur )
32. BIHAR: Darbhanga (Darbhanga )
33. HARYANA: Saha ( Ambala)
34. JAMMU & KASHMIROmpora-Lassipora (Budgam-Pulwama)
```

35. MAHARASHTRA: Nanded (Nanded)

38. MIZORAMLuangmual (Aizawl)
39. NAGALANDGaneshnagar (Kohima)
40. ORISSA:Jharsuguda (Jharsuguda)
41. PONDICHERRYPOlagam-Karaikal (Karaikal)

42. RAJASTHANBhilwara (Bhilwara) 43. TRIPURABodhjangnagar (West Tripura) 44. UTTAR PRADESHDibiapur (Auraiya) 45. ORISSAKesinga (Kalahandi)

46. TAMIL NADUOragadam (Kancheepuram)

36. MANIPURLamlai- Napet (Imphal)
37. MEGHALAYAMendhipattar (East Garo Hills)