GOVERNMENT OF INDIA POWER LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2773
ANSWERED ON:15.03.2001
MASSIVE INVESTMENTS IN POWER GRID CORPORATION
IQBAL AHMED SARADGI

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Power Grid Corporation has decided to lay its proposed 14,000 km. long optical fibre network;
- (b) if so, whether the country wide optical fibre network is likely to cost Rs,. 1,400 crore;
- (c) the names of the cities that are likely to be covered under this scheme; and
- (d) the time by which it is likely to be implemented?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER (SHRIMATI JAYAWANTI MEHTA)

(a) to (d): POWERGRID plans to develop fibre optic telecom backbone network of about 14,000 kms. In the next 2-3 years at an estimated cost of Rs.1100 crores. The network will connect all metros and major towns and cities in the country, a list of which is at Annex.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF LOK SABJINSTARRED QUESTION NO.2773 TO B ANSWERED ON 15.3.2001.

Sl.No. State City Names

1 ndhra Pradesh Hyderabad 2 Andhra Pradesh Vijayawada 3 Andhra Pradesh Vishakapatnam 4 Assam Guwahati 5 Assam Tezpur 6 Bihar Jamshedpur 7 Bihar Patna 8 Delhi Delhi 9 Gujarat Ahmedabad 10 Gujarat Vadodra 11 Haryana Panipat 12 Himachal Pradesh Shimla 13 J & K Jammu 14 J & K Udampur 15 Karnataka Bangalore 16 Karnataka Mysore 17 Kerala Eranakulum 18 Kerela Kozikode 19 Kerela Trivandrum 20 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 21 Madhya Pradesh Indore 22 Madhya Pradesh Raipur 23 Madhya Pradesh Bhilai 24 Madhya Pradesh Itarsi 25 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur 26 Maharastra Mumbai 27 Maharastra Nagpur 28 Maharastra Nasik 29 Maharastra Pune 30 Gujarat Surat 31 Manipur Imphal 32 Meghalaya Shillong 33 Nagaland Kohima

34 Orissa Bhubaneswar 35 Orissa Rourkela 36 Punjab Ambala 37 Punjab Jalandhar

- 38 Punjab Ludhiana

- 39 Punjab Moga
 40 Punjab Panchkula
 41 Rajasthan Jaipur
 42 Tamilnadu Chennai
- 42 Tamilnadu Chennai
 43 TamilNadu Coimbatore
 44 TamilNadu Madurai
 45 Tamilnadu Trichi
 46 Tirpura Agartala
 47 UP Agra
 48 UP Allahabad
 49 UP Kanpur

- 50 UP Lucknow
- 51 UP Moradabad 52 UP MuradNagar

- 53 UP Varanasi 54 UT Chandigarh 55 Westbengal Calcutta 56 Westbengal Durgapur