GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMUNICATIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2796 ANSWERED ON:13.03.2000 POST OFFICES IN MAHARASHTRA CHANDRAKANT BHAURAO KHAIRE

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government propose to upgrade Branch Post Offices and open some more post offices in Maharashtra particularly in Aurangabad region;

(b) if so, the details thereof, district-wise; and

(c) the steps taken by the Government in this regard ?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS

(SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR)

(a) Yes, Deptt. of Posts has opened post offices in Maharashtra including Aurangabad region of the State.

(b) The district-wise details are given in Annexure `A`.

(c) Under annual Plan 1999-2000, the target for opening of 50 new Branch Post Offices and 2 Sub Post Offices has been fixed for Maharashtra Postal Circle. Out of this target, 49 Branch Post Offices (including 16 for Aurangabad Region) and 2 Sub Post Offices, have been sanctioned so far during the current financial year.

Statement in respect of Part (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.2796 for 13th March, 2000 regarding Post Offices in Maharashtra.

ANNEXURE-A DETAILS OF POST OFFICES SANCTIONED DURING 1999-2000

Sl.No. District Name of EDBO Dated of Opening

1. Beed

1. Kotan

2. Doulgaon ghat

29.6.99 27.10.99

2. Nanded

1. Sawaleshwar

- 2. Kasarkheda
- 3. Bijegaon

4. Raipur Tanda

5. Vartala

20.7.99		
15.7.99		
14.7.99		
19.8.99		
29.10.99		

3. Nandurbar

1. Kansai

2. Pachorabari

3. Chirkhan

1.7.99

1.7.99 27.1299

4. Parbhani

1. Sawargaon

19.8.99

5. Jalna

1. Hatadi

29.8.99 6. Aurangabad

1. Liba

29.10.99

7

Jalgaon

1. Nimdya

2. Mohadi

5.1.00 24.12.99

8. Nashik

1. Dhondbar

28.12.99

9. Ahmednagar

1. Alhanwadi

2. Shingnapur

14.6.99 13.11.99 10. Pune

1. Zargadwadi

14.6.99 11. Satara

1. Narayanwadi

```
19.11.99
12.
Buldana
```

1. Narkhad

5.5.99 13. Amravati

1. Talegaon

2. Bhomdi

6.5.99

4.5.99 14. Yavatmal

1. Pimpri

6.5.99 15. Chandrapur

1. Charurkhati

2. Umri Petdar

7.5.99

75.99 16. Nagpur

Nagpur

1. Tamaswadi

2. Narsala

3. Borda

4. Vihirgaon

4.5.99 6.5.99

5.5.99 To be opened 17. Thane

1. Dungo

2. Yahele

3. Gegaon

4. Nandara

31.5.99 28.5.99 28.5.99 To be opened 18. Raigad

1. Adai

2. Padghe

1.4.99

1.4.99 19. Ratnagiri

1. Bapase

2. Veral

3. Kondaar

4. Soliwade

5. Majal

- 21.5.99 25.5.99 31.12.99
- 2.3.2000 To be opened 20. Sindhudurg

1. Chafakhol

2. Satase

3. Pandhari

25.5.99 25.5.99 15.11.99 21. Sangli

1. Dhulgaon

1.3.2000 22. South Goa

1. CNGC Complex

16.4.99 23. North Goa

1. Mankurem

2. Tambaram

3. Velgue

23.6.99

1.1.2000 To be opened DSOs

1. Mumbai

1. Hirandandini Complex

Yet to be opened

2. Pune Yet to be opened UPGRADATION

1. Jevali BO Distt. Latur }

2. Dhanora BO Distt. Nandurbar } Under examination

3. HUDCO BO Distt. Aurangabad }

Against the target of 50 BOs and 2 DSOs for 1999-2000, 49 BOs and 2 DSOs are sanctioned till date.