GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4581 ANSWERED ON:19.12.2000 DISTRICT PRIMARY EDUCATION PROGRAMME A.D.K. JEYASEELAN

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether District Primary Education Programme has been expanded to the districts having low female literacy; and
- (b) if so, the details of those districts, state-wise?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI SYED SHAHNAWAZ HUSSAIN)

(a) & (b): The District Primary Education Programme (DPEP) has been expanded to cover 219 districts of 18 States (now comprising 248 districts after bifurcation / realignment of certain districts). Except 6 districts in Kerala (Kasaragode, Mallapuram, Wayanad, Thiruvananthapuram, Iddukki and Palakkad), 5 districts in Tamil Nadu [South Arcot, (now bifurcated into Cuddalore and Villupuram) Pudukottai, Ramanathapuram and Perambalur Thiruvalluvar] and 2 districts in Maharashtra (Aurangabad and Latur) all other districts covered under DPEPhave female literacy rate lower than the National average. Names of States/Districts covered under the programme are given in the Annex.

Annex referred to in reply to part (b) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.4581 to be answered on19.12.2000 regarding District Primary Education Programme

(STATES & DISTRICTS covered under DPEP)

```
Name of State
                                        Names of Districts
     (No. of districts
No.
covered)
1 ASSAM [9]
                Darrang, Dhubri, Karbi Anglong, Morigaon
Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon, Goalpara, Barpeta, Sonitpur
2 HARYANA [7] Hissar, Jind, Kaithal, Sirsa Gurgaon, Bhiwani, Mahendragarh
3 KARNATAKA [11] Belgaum, Kolar, Mandya, Raichur
Bellary, Bidar, Gulbarga, Mysore, Bijapur, Bangalore (Rural), Dharwad
4. KERALA [6]
                       Kasaragode, Mallapuram, Wayanad Thiruvananthapuram, Iddukki, Palakkad
5. MADHYA PRADESH [28] Betul, Chhatarpur, Dhar, Guna, Mandsaur,
Panna, Raisen, Rajgarh, Ratlam, Rewa, Satna, Sehore, Shahdol, Sidhi,
   Tikamgarh Mandla, Seoni, Shivpuri, Bhind, Morena,
Vidisha, Jhabua, Datia, Khargone, Dewas, Shajapur, Khandwa, Damoh
6. CHHATISGARH [6] Bilaspur, Raigarh, Rajnandgaon, Surguja Bastar, Raipur
7 MAHARASHTRA [9]
                      Aurangabad, Latur, Nanded, Osmanabad, Parbhani
Bid, Dhule, Gadchiroli, Jalna
8. TAMIL NADU [6]
                       Dharmapuri, South Arcot, Thiruvannamalai
Pudhukottai, Ramanathapuram, Perambalur Thiruvalluvar
9. ANDHRA PRADESH [19] Karimnagar, Kurnool, Nellore, Warangal,
Vizianagaram , Adilabad, Ananthapur, Chitoor,
Cuddappah, Guntur, Khammam, Mahaboobnagar,
Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Prakasham, Rangareddy, Srikakulam and
  Visakhapatnam
10. GUJARAT [3]
                         Banaskantha, Dang, Panchmahal
11. HIMACHAL PRADESH Chamba, Kullu, Lahaul & Spiti, Sirmour
 [4]
12. ORISSA [8]
                       Bolangir, Dhenkanal, Kalahandi, Rayagada, Gajapati
Baragarh, Sambalpur, Keonjhar
13. WEST BENGAL [10] Bankura, Birbhum, Cooch Behar, Murshidabad,
South Paraganas Jalpaiguri, Malda, Purulia, North Dinajpur,
South Dinajpur
14. UTTAR PRADESH [50] Maharajganj, Siddharthnagar, Gonda, Badaun,
```

```
Kheri, Lalitpur, Pillibhit, Basti, Moradabad,
Shahjahanpur, Sonbhadra, Deoria, Hardoi,
Bareilly, Firozabad, Rampur, Bahraich, Barabanki.
Agra , Azamgarh, Balia, Bijnaur, Bulandshahar,
Etah, Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Farrukhabad,
Kannauj, Fatehpur, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh
Nagar, Ghazipur, Hamirpur, Mahoba, Jalaun,
Jaunpur, Jahnasi, Kanpur Dehat, Mainpuri,
Mathura, Mau, Meerut, Baghapat, Mirzapur,
Muzaffarnagar, Padrauna, Pratapgarh, Rae-
Bareli, Sultanpur, Unnao.
15. UTTARANCHAL [6] Bageshwar, Champawat, Haridwar, Pithoragarh, Tehri Garhwal, Uttar Kashi.
16. BIHAR [ 11 Muzaffarpur, West Champaran, Sitamarhi,
                     Sheohar, Rohtas, Kaimur, Vaishali, Darbhanga,
Gaya, Purnea, Araria, Kishanganj, Bhojpur,
educational
districts,
comprising 20 Buxar, Munger, Jamui, Lakhisarai, Sheikhpura,
revenue districts] Bhagalpur, Banka,.
17. JHARKHAND [ 6 Chatra, Dumka, East Singhbhum (Jamshedpur),
                    Hazaribagh, Koderma, Ranchi, West Singhbhum
educational
                  (Chaibassa),
districts,
comprising
revenue districts]
18. RAJASTHAN [10]
                           Alwar, Bhilwara, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Kota,
Nagaur, Sikar, Sirohi, Sri Ganganagar, Tonk
Total Districts covered: 219 (now comprising 248 districts after bifurcation / realignment of certain districts).
```