## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COMMUNICATIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:196 ANSWERED ON:20.11.2000 TELEPHONE EXCHANGES IN ORISSA BHARTRUHARI MAHTAB;M.A. KHARABELA SWAIN

## Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the number of telephone exchanges functioning in Orissa at present particularly, in Balasore region, district-wise;

(b) the number of telephone exchanges proposed to be opened in the State and the said region during 2000-2001` and 2001-2002, location-wise;

(c) whether telephone exchanges have been upgraded at Baramba and Narasingpur in Athgarh Sub-Division of Cuttack in Orissa;

(d) if so, the details thereof;

(e) whether the Government propose to provide local call facility between Narasingpur and Cuttack;

(f) if so, the reasons thereof; and (g) if not, the reason therefor?

## Answer

## THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR)

(a) As on 31.10.2000, 887 telephone exchanges are functioning in Orissa out of which 74 exchanges are working in Balasore region. District-wise details are given in Annexure -I.

(b) It is proposed to open 76 exchanges during 2000-2001 and 75 exchanges during 2001-2002 in Orissa State. Location-wise details of the exchanges already opened/proposed to be opened during 2000-2001 are given in Annexure-II. Locations of the exchanges proposed to be opened during 2001-2002 will be decided depending on the demand.

(c)&(d) The telephone exchange at Baramba has been upgraded to 512P C-DOT exchange. There is a plan to install 2nd unit of 256P C-DOT exchange at Narasingpur in Athgarh Sub-division of Cuttack in Orissa.

(e) No, Sir.

(f) Does not arise in view of (e) above.

(g) Narasingpur is neither adjacent SDCA to Cuttack nor it is within 50 Kms. Radial distance to Cuttack.

ANNEXURE -I

DISTRICT-WSIE DETAILS OF TELEPHONE EXCHANGES FUNCTIONING IN ORISSA (AS ON 31.10.2000).

Sl. No. Revenue District No. of Exchange

TOTAL 887

ANNEXURE -TT

LOCATION-WISE DETAILS OF TELEPHONE EXCHANGES ALREADY OPENED/TO BE OPENED DURING 2000-2001.

SL. NO. REVENUE DISTRICT STATION REMARKS 1 MALKANGIRI KHAIRAPUR COMMISSIONED 2 MALKANGIRI KUDUMULGUMA COMMISSIONED 3 MALKANGIRI PADIA COMMISSIONED 4 KORAPUT PODAGADA 5 KORAPUT ONUKUDELI COMMISSIONED 6 RAYAGADA DURGI 1 ANUGUL BALIPATTA COMMISSIONED 2 DHENKANAL BIRASAL COMMISSIONED 3 DHENKANAL MOHABIR ROAD COMMISSIONED 4 KEONJHAR JANGHIRA 5 ANUGUL PABITRANAGAR COMMISSIONED 6 KEONJHAR UDAYAPUR 1 KHURDA KRISHNAPRASAD 2 KHURDA NUAPADA COMMISSIONED 3 PURI SUNAMUHI 4 KHURDA PATNAHAT 5 KHURDA ABHAYAMUKHI 6 KHURDA MOHIPADA 7 PURI SATPADA 8 PURI KHAJURIA 9 NAYAGARH GODIPADA 1 KALAHANDI DESAPUR 2 NUAPADA LAKHANA 3 NUAPADA BHULIA SIKUAN 4 NUAPADA SARABONG COMMISSIONED 5 NUAPADA TARBOD 6 KALAHANDI AMPANI COMMISSIONED 1 JAJAPUR GOBARDHANPUR 2 JAGATSINGHPUR ANOLIPATNA 3 JAJAPUR PERIPADA 4 CUTTACK BARHAMPURA 5 KENDRAPARA AYATANA 6 CUTTACK JILINDA 7 CUTTACK BANDALO 8 KENDRAPARA ADHAJORI 9 KENDRAPARA BENIPUR 10 KENDRAPARA ANTEI 11 KENDRAPARA NAMOUZA 12 KENDRAPARA PIKRALI 13 CUTTACK DURGAPUR 14 CUTTACK RAMESWAR 15 JAJAPUR RAGADI 16 JAJAPUR NAHAN

1 MAYURBHANJ NADPUR 2 MAYURBHANJ TANGAVILLA

3 MAYURBHANJ MANIDA 4 MAYURBHANJ PRATAP PUR 5 MAYURBHANJ MARSHIGAON
1 BOLANGIR GUDUVELLA COMMISSIONED 2 BOLANGIR CHANDANVATI 3 BOLANGIR GHASIAN 4 BOLANGIR MAHIMUNDA
1 PHULBANI GOCHHAPARA 2 GANJAM PITAL 3 BOUDHA AMBAGAON 4 GANJAM KAHNDA DEULI
1BHADRAKEARM COMMISSIONED2BALASOREKALIPADA COMMISSIONED3BHADRAKBILANA4BALASOREDURGADEVI5BHADRAKKAMAROAON6BALASORESRIRAMPUR7BHADRAKANTRA
<ol> <li>SUNDARGARH GURUNDIA</li> <li>SUNDARGARH BADAGOGUA</li> <li>SUNDARGARH KALEIPOSH COMMISSIONED</li> <li>SUNDARGARH SORODA</li> <li>SUNDARGARH KHUNTAGAON</li> <li>SUNDARGARH SAHAJBAHAL</li> </ol>
1 DEOGARH TILEIBANI COMMISSIONED 2 BARGARH JANPADA COMMISSIONED 3 JHARSUGUDA SALETIKIRA 4 JHARSUGUDA PUKHARISAHI 5 SAMBALPUR GUNDURCHUAN 6 SAMBALPUR FASIMAL

6 SAMBALPUR FASIMAL 7 SAMBALPUR GOCHHARA