GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:153 ANSWERED ON:20.11.2000 GROUNDNUT CULTIVATION HEMA GAMANG

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Union Government have any scheme to promote groundnut cultivation in various States;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the States in which this scheme bas been launched;
- (d) whether the Government are aware that there is vast scope for groundnut cultivation in Orissa; and
- (e) if so, the steps taken to increase the groundnut cultivation in Orissa?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI SHRIPAD Y. NAIK)

- (a) & (b): Yes Sir. A Centrally Sponsored Oilseeds Production Programme (OPP) isin implementation in 25 States to promote the cultivation of soilseeds including groundnut. Under the programme financial assistance is provided for the critical inputs like production and distribution of seeds, distribution of seed minikits, sprinkler sets, improved farm implements, gypsum/pyrites micronutrients, rhyzobium culture etc. to the farmers through State Govts. In addition to this, frontline and general demonstrations are also organized on the farmers' fields to disseminate the improved production and disseminate the improved production and protection technologies.
- (c): A list of States where the scheme of Oilseeds Production Programme is being Implemented is enclosed.
- (d) &(e): The State of Orissa is already covered under OPP for the development ofall the 9 oilseed crops viz. Groundnut, Rapeseed-Mustard, Sesamum, Niger, Castor, Linseed, Sunflower, Safflower and Soyabean. The scheme is being implemented in the State of Orissa covering 13 selected districts which are potential for the cultivation of various oilseed crops including groundnut. During the current year, an amount of Rs.420.00 lakhs has been allocated to the State for implementation of the scheme.

LIST OF STATES WHERE THE SCHEME OF OILSEEDS PRODUCTION PROGRAMME (OPP) IS BEING IMPLEMENTED

Andhra Pradesh Bihar
Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu & Kashmir
Karnataka Kerala
Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Orissa Punjab
Rajasthan Tamil Nadu
Uttar Pradesh West Bengal
Goa Arunachal Pradesh
Assam Manipur
Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Tripura
Sikkim