Inclusion of Jajpur town under I.D.S.M.T. Scheme

*298. SHRI ANADI CHARAN DAS: Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any proposal has been received from the Government of Orissa by the Union Government regarding inclusion of towns like Jaipur under the scheme for Integrated Development of Small and Medium Towns;
 - (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the reaction of the Union Government thereto?

THE MINISTER OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (SHRIMATI SHEILA KAUL): (a) Yes, Sir.

- (b) and (c) The Government of Orissa submitted a list of 15 towns as shown below for Central assistance under the Scheme of Integrated Development of Small & Medium Towns during the 8th Plan period.
 - 1. Jajpur Road
 - 2. Jajpur
 - 3. Kendrapara
 - 4. Bhadrak
 - 5. Titilagarh
 - 6. Angul
 - 7. Parlakhemundi
 - 8. Gopalpur
 - 9. Bhanjanagar
 - 10. Rayagada
 - 11. Nowrangpur
 - 12. Jathi
 - 13. Sundargarh
 - 14. Jharsuguda
 - 15. Bargarh

The State Government had also indicated that of these 15 towns, the following 6 towns would be considered during the financial year 1990-91 in the order of priority:

- 1. Kendrapara
- 2. Bargarh
- 3. Gopalpur 4-16 LSS ND/91

- 4. Jajpur Road
- 5. Angul
- 6. Rayagada

These 6 towns were, therefore, selected for Central assistance during the year 1990-91 and sanction orders issued.

46

Affiliation of Schools to CBSE

*299. SHRI P. C. THOMAS: Will the Minister of HUMAN RE-SOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Central Board of Secondary Education has refused affiliation to more than fifty schools of Delhi;
 - (b) if so, the reasons therefor;

RESOURCE

(SHRI ARJUN

- (c) the number of Central Board of Secondary Education recognised schools in Kerala and the locations thereof; and
- (d) the steps taken to improve the standard of education in these schools?

THE MINISTER OF HUMAN

DEVELOPMENT

SINGH): (a) to (c)

According to the information furnished by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), 63 schools in Delhi have not been granted affiliation by CBSE since they do not fulfil the conditions for grant of affiliation as laid down in the Bye-Laws of the CBSE and 50 schools in Kerala have been affiliated to the CBSE. The list of such schools giving their locations is given in the attached statement.

- (d) The steps being taken to improve the standard of CBSE affiliated schools include the following:—
 - (i) Use of the revised NCERT school syllabi and textbooks.
 - (ii) Requiring the schools to adhere to the academic and infrastructural norms as laid down in the Affiliation Bye-Laws of the CBSE.
 - (iii) Providing academic support materials and regulating the standard of examinations conducted by the Board.