Wednesday, August 11, 2021 Sravana 20, 1943 (Saka)

LOK SABHA DEBATES (English Version)

Sixth Session (Seventeenth Lok Sabha)



(Vol. XIII contains Nos. 11 to 17)

LOK SABHA SECRETARIAT NEW DELHI

EDITORIAL BOARD

Utpal Kumar Singh Secretary General Lok Sabha

Vinay Kumar Mohan **Joint Secretary**

Bishan Kumar **Director**

Rohini Sharma **Joint Director**

Sunil Kumar Assistant Editor

© 2021 Lok Sabha Secretariat

None of the material may be copied, reproduced, distributed, republished, downloaded, displayed, posted or transmitted in any form or by any means, including but not limited to, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without the prior permission of Lok Sabha Secretariat. However, the material can be displayed, copied, distributed and downloaded for personal, non-commercial use only, provided the material is not modified and all copyright and other proprietary notices contained in the material are retained.

Original English proceedings included in English Version will be treated as authoritative and not the English translation of the speeches made in Hindi and other languages included in it. For complete authoritative version please see Original Version of Lok Sabha Debates.

$\underline{\textbf{CONTENTS}}$

Seventeenth Series, Vol. XIII, Sixth Session, 2021/1943 (Saka) No.17, Wednesday, August 11, 2021/Sravana 20, 1943 (Saka)

<u>CONTENTS</u>	<u>PAGES</u>
OBITUARY REFERENCES	4-5
VALEDICTORY REFERENCE	6-7
NATIONAL SONG	7

OFFICERS OF LOK SABHA

THE SPEAKER

Shri Om Birla

PANEL OF CHAIRPERSONS

Shrimati Rama Devi

Dr. (Prof.) Kirit Premjibhai Solanki

Shri Rajendra Agrawal

Shri Kodikunnil Suresh

Shri A. Raja

Shri P.V. Midhun Reddy

Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab

Shri N.K. Premachandran

Dr. Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar

SECRETARY GENERAL

Shri Utpal Kumar Singh

LOK SABHA DEBATES

LOK SABHA

Wednesday, August 11, 2021/Sravana 20, 1943 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock.

[HON. SPEAKER in the Chair]

11.08.2021 4

OBITUARY REFERENCES

[Translation]

HON. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, with profound grief, I have to inform the House about the passing away of four of our former colleagues.

Shri Virbhadra Singh was a member of the 3rd and 4th Lok Sabha representing the Mahasu Parliamentary Constituency and 5th, 7th and 15th Lok Sabha representing the Mandi Parliamentary Constituency of Himachal Pradesh.

Shri Virbhadra Singh served as Union Cabinet Minister of Steel and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Deputy Minister of Tourism and Civil Aviation and Minister of State of Industries in the Government of India.

An active social and political worker, Shri Virbhadra Singh was the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh for six terms. He also served as Leader of Opposition in the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Shri Virbhadra Singh passed away on 8 July, 2021 in Shimla at the age of 87 years.

Shri Nityananda Misra was a Member of the 7th and 8th Lok Sabha representing the Bolangir Parliamentary Constituency of Odisha.

Shri Nityananda Misra passed away on 22 July, 2021 in Bhubaneswar at the age of 93 years.

Prof. Gopalrao Mayekar was a Member of the 9th Lok Sabha representing the Panaji Parliamentary Constituency of Goa.

He was a Member of the Public Accounts Committee and the Committee on Private Members Bills and Resolutions.

Earlier, Prof. Mayekar was a Member of the Goa, Daman & Diu Legislative Assembly and he also served as a Minister in the Government of Goa, Daman & Diu.

Prof. Gopalrao Mayekar passed away on 22 July, 2021 in Panaji at the age of 87 years.

Shri Sudarsan Ray Chaudhuri was a Member of the 9th and 10th Lok Sabha representing the Serampore Parliamentary Constituency of West Bengal. Shri

11.08.2021 5

Chaudhuri was also a Member of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly and served as Minister of Higher Education in the Government of West Bengal.

Shri Sudarsan Ray Chaudhuri passed away on 31 July, 2021 in Hooghly at the age of 75 years.

We deeply mourn the loss of our former colleagues and I am sure the House would join me in conveying our condolences to their bereaved families.

Now the Members will stand in silence for a short while in honor of departed souls.

The Members then stood in silence for a short while.

HON. SPEAKER: Om Shanti Shanti Shanti.

11.03 hrs

VALEDICTORY REFERENCE

[Translation]

HON. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, we have now come to the close of the sixth Session of the Seventeenth Lok Sabha. The Session commenced on 19th July, 2021. The business of the House could not be completed as expected in this Session. Due to continuous stalemate, business for only 21 hours and 14 minutes could be completed out of a total of 17 sittings of the House in this Session. Due to disruption, out of the 96 hours allotted for the sittings, business could not be conducted for 74 hours and 46 minutes in the House, which resulted in only 22 per cent performance of the House in this Session. At the beginning of the Session, four Members of the Lok Sabha took oath on 19th July, 2021. During the Session, some important financial and legislative business was disposed in the House. During this Session, 15-17 Bills were introduced. Twenty important Bills including the Constitution (127th Amendment) Bill, 2021 were passed. Despite continuous disruption during the Session, replies to 66 Starred Questions were made under the Question Hour. Hon. Members raised a total of 331 matters under Rule 377. Sixty reports of Standing Committees were presented in the House.

As many as 22 statements were made by the Hon. Ministers on various important subjects; three statements were also made by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs regarding Government business. During the Session, as many as 1,243 papers were laid on the Table by the Ministers concerned.

I would like to thank my Hon. Colleagues in the Panel of Chairpersons for their co-operation in the completion of the business of the House.

I am extremely grateful to the Hon. Prime Minister, Ministers of Parliamentary Affairs, Hon. leaders and Hon. Members of all parties. I take this opportunity to express my appreciation to the Secretary General and the officers and staff of the Lok Sabha Secretariat for their dedicated and prompt service rendered to the House. I would also like to thank, on behalf of all of you, our friends in the Press and the Media. I also thank the allied agencies for the services rendered by them in the conduct of the proceedings of the House.

Hon. Members, now stand up on your place for Vande Matram.

11.06 hrs

NATIONAL SONG

The National Song was played.

[Translation]

HON. SPEAKER: The House is adjourned sine die.

11.07 hrs

The Lok Sabha then adjourned sine die.

INTERNET

The Original version, English version and Hindi Version of Lok Sabha proceedings are available on Parliament of India Website at the following address:

https://sansad.in/ls

LIVE TELECAST OF PROCEEDINGS OF LOK SABHA

Lok Sabha proceedings are telecast live on Sansad TV Channel. Live telecast begins at 11 A.M. every day the Lok Sabha sits till the adjournment of the House.

©2021 By Lok Sabha Secretariat Published under Rules 379 and 382 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha (Sixteenth Edition)