LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2382 TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.08.2024

SILK SAMAGRA SCHEME IN KARNATAKA

2382. SHRI TEJASVI SURYA:

Will the Minister of TEXTILES वस्त्र मंत्री be pleased to state :

- (a) whether the Government plans to extend the duration of the Silk Samagra Scheme for the development of silk industry in Karnataka;
- (b) the measures taken by the Government to provide employment security to the handloom, powerloom and handicraft workers in Karnataka post the abolition of the All India Handicraft and Handloom Board; and
- (c) the constituency-wise breakup of the silk farmers in Karnataka and the MSP availed by them?

उत्तर ANSWER वस्त्र राज्य मंत्री (श्री प**बित्र मार्घेरिटा**) THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR TEXTILES (SHRI PABITRA MARGHERITA)

(a): Govt. of India through Central Silk Board implemented the Central Sector Scheme "Silk Samagra" during the period 2017-18 to 2020-21.

Presently, "Silk Samagra-2" scheme is under implementation in the country including Karnataka during the period 2021-22 to 2025-26. The scheme aims to make India Aatmanirbhar in production of Bivoltine raw silk and inclusive development of small and marginal farmers, including women and tribal / SCs.

- (b): The Government has been implementing National Handloom Development Programme and Raw Material Supply scheme on a pan India basis, including Karnataka for the promotion and development of Handloom Sector and welfare of handloom weavers. In addition, the National Handicraft Development Programme and Comprehensive Handicrafts Cluster Development Scheme are implemented in the handicrafts sector.
- In Karnataka around 73,000 Powerlooms are scattered at major clusters such as Bangalore, Doddaballapur, Belgaum, Gadag-Betegiri, Rakbhavi- Banahatti, etc. The Government of Karnataka is implementing a scheme namely "Nekara Sanman Yojana" for providing financial assistance /employment security for weavers including Handloom and Powerloom weavers.
- **(c):** The silk sector / sericulture farmers are not covered under MSP. The district-wise details of silk farmers in Karnataka are given below:

Sl. No.	District	Sericulture farmers in Karnataka
1	Bangalore Rural	7,439
2	Bangalore Urban	1,328
3	Chikkaballapur	18,186
4	Chitradurga	3,423
5	Davanagere	566
6	Kolar	19,117
7	Ramanagar	27,439
8	Shivamogga	359
9	Tumakuru	6,921
10	Chamarajanagar	1,923
11	Chikkamagalur	162
12	Dakshina Kannada	16
13	Hassan	3,033
14	Kodagu	27
15	Mandya	32,040
16	Mysuru	3,994
17	Udupi	32
18	Bellary	202
19	Vijayanagara	3,723
20	Bidar	528
21	Kalaburgi	1,431
22	Koppal	774
23	Raichur	806
24	Yadgir	268
25	Bagalkote	1,403
26	Belagavi	2,432
27	Vijayapura	1,387
28	Dharwad	271
29	Gadag	978
30	Haveri	3,026
31	Uttara Kannada	330
	Mysore Seed Cocoon	5,139
32	producers	3,139
	Total	1,48,703

Source: Department of Sericulture, Govt. of Karnataka