GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS LOK SHABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- 1951

ANSWERED ON - 02/08/2024

LIGHTHOUSE TOURISM

1951. DR. DR JAYANTA KUMAR ROY: SHRI BIDYUT BARAN MAHATO: SMT. KAMALJEET SEHRAWAT: SHRI TEJASVI SURYA: SHRI KHAGEN MURMU:

Will the Minister of Ports, Shipping and Waterways be pleased to state: पत्तन, पोत परिवहन और जलमार्ग मंत्री

- (a) whether the Government has identified lighthouse sites for development of lighthouse tourism projects;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the funds allocated, State-wise;
- (c) the current status of the light house development projects along with the estimated timeline for completion of the Projects;
- (d) the financial assistance to be provided for the upkeep and renovation of such lighthouses; and
- (e) the other steps taken/proposed to be taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

- (a) Yes, 75 lighthouses have been identified and developed for tourism purposes in 10 States/UTs.
- (b) List of 75 lighthouses is attached as **Annexure-I**. State-wise details of expenditure made is given below:

S. No.	State	Expenditure (in cr.)
1.	Gujarat	Rs. 11.57
2.	Maharashtra	Rs. 3.46
3.	Karnataka	Rs. 4.32
4.	Goa	Rs. 0.95
5.	Kerala	Rs. 5.15
6.	Tamil Nadu	Rs. 5.83
7.	Andhra Pradesh	Rs. 5.08
8.	Odisha	Rs. 2.00
9.	West Bengal	Rs. 1.17
10.	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	Rs. 0.42

- (c) The projects have been completed and dedicated to the Nation on 28 February 2024.
- (d) Fund received through central budget grants is used for the upkeep and maintenance of lighthouses.
- (e) Online ticketing system is being developed to facilitate the tourists visiting the lighthouses.

Annexure-I
State-wise list of 75 Lighthouses developed for tourism purposes

S. No.	State/ UT	Name of Lighthouse	
1	Gujarat	Mandvi, Rawalpir, Samiyani, Okha, Kachhigarh, Porbandar, Mangrol, Jaffrabad, Jegri, Alang, Ghogha, Hazira, ValsadKhadi, Gopnath, Veraval, Dwarka, Umargaon	
2	Goa and Karnataka	Aguda, Tadri, Bhatkal, Kaup, Surathkal, Kundapur	
3	Kerala	Kannur, Ponnani, Chetwai, Vypin, Alappuzha, Valiyazhikkal, Thangesserili, Anjengo, Vizhinnjam, Azokode, Kadalur Point	
4	Tamil Nadu	Kanniyakumari, Kuthankuli, Manappad, Kilakkari, Dhanushkodi, Pamban, Karaikkal, Mallipattinam, Kodikkarai, Nagapattinam, Poompohar, Pulicat, Muttom Point, Mahabalipuram, Chennai	
5	Andhra Pradesh	Ramayapatnam, Machilipatnam, Antervedi, Sacramento, Vakalpudi, Santapalli, Kalingapatnam, Baruva, Vodarevu, Pudimadaka	
6	Odisha and West Bengal	Gopalpur, Puri, Chandrabhaga, Paradip, False Point, Tajpur, Dariyapur, Sagar Island	
7	Maharashtra	Uttan Point, Korlai Fort, Jaigarh, Ratnagiri, Vengurla Point, Kelshi	
8	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	North Point, Port Cornwallis	
