GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 776 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26th JULY, 2024

STRENGTHEN MEDICAL EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS

776. SHRI BASTIPATI NAGARAJU:

Will the Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the initiatives designed to uplift and strengthen medical education institutions in the country, State/UT-wise;
- (b) the details of the objectives of the Scheme and extant of its achievements; and
- (c) the status of the implementation of this scheme and achievement of the envisaged objectives?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SMT. ANUPRIYA PATEL)

(a) to (c): The Ministry of Health & Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals' with preference to underserved areas and aspirational districts, where there is no existing Government or private medical college. The fund sharing mechanism between the Centre and State Governments is in the ratio of 90:10 for North Eastern and Special Category States, and 60:40 for others. Under the Scheme, 157 Government medical colleges have been approved in three phases. Out of these, 109 medical colleges have become functional. The phase wise details of medical colleges approved in the country are at Annexure.

Some of the measures/steps taken by the Government to augment the medical education facilities and to improve the medical standards in the country include: -

- i. Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) for establishment of new medical colleges by upgrading district/ referral hospital under which 157 new medical colleges have been approved, out of which 109 are already functional.
- ii. CSS for strengthening/ upgradation of existing State Government/ Central Government medical colleges to increase the number of MBBS (UG) and PG seats, under which

- support has been provided for increase of 4977 MBBS seats in 83 colleges with an approved cost of Rs. 5972.20 Cr, 4058 PG seats in phase-I in 72 colleges with an approved cost of Rs. 1498.43 cr and 4000 PG seats in phase-II in 65 colleges with an approved cost of Rs. 4478.25 Cr.
- iii. Under "Upgradation of Government medical colleges by construction of Super Specialty Blocks" component of Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY), a total of 75 projects have been approved, of which 66 projects are complete.
- iv. Under the Central Sector Scheme for setting up of new AIIMS, 22 AIIMS have been approved. Undergraduate courses have started in 19 of these.
- v. DNB qualification has been recognized for appointment as teaching faculty to take care of shortage of faculty.
- vi. Enhancement of age limit for appointment/ extension/ re-employment against posts of teachers/dean/principal/ director in medical colleges upto 70 years.

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a) to (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 776 for answer on 26.07.2024

State-wise details of 157 Medical Colleges approved under the Centrally Sponsored scheme for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'

S.No	State/UT	No. of colleges	Districts	
			Phase-I (58)	
1	A & N Islands	1	Port Blair	
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Naharlagun	
3	Assam	4	Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu	
4	Bihar	3	Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur	
5	Chhattisgarh	2	Rajnandgaon, Sarguja	
6	Himachal Pradesh	3	Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)	
7	Haryana	1	Bhiwani	
8	Jharkhand	3	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)	
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5	Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri, Doda, Kathua	
10	Madhya Pradesh	7	Datia, Khandwa, Ratlam, Shahdol, Vidisha, Chindwara, Shivpuri	
11	Maharashtra	1	Gondia	
12	Meghalaya	1	West Garo Hills (Tura)	
13	Mizoram	1	Falkawn	
14	Nagaland	1	Naga Hospital (Kohima)	
15	Odisha	5	Balasore, Baripada (Mayurbhanj), Bolangir, Koraput, Puri	
16	Punjab	1	SAS Nagar	
17	Rajasthan	7	Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Churu, Dungarpur, Pali, Sikar	
18	Uttar Pradesh	5	Basti, Faizabad, Firozabad, Shahjahanpur, Bahraich	
19	Uttarakhand	1	Almora	
20	West Bengal	5	Birbhum (Rampur Hat), Cooch Behar, Diamond Harbour, Purulia, Raiganj (North Dinajpur)	
Phase –II (24)				
1	Bihar	5	Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar, Jamui	
2	Jharkhand	2	Koderma, Chaibasa (Singhbhum)	
3	Madhya Pradesh	1	Satna	
4	Odisha	1	Jajpur	
5	Rajasthan	1	Dholpur	
6	Uttar Pradesh	8	Etah, Hardoi, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Deoria, Ghazipur, Mirzapur	
7	West Bengal	5	Barasat, Uluberia, Arambagh, Jhargram, Tamluk	
8	Sikkim	1	Gangtok	
Phase-III (75)				
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	Piduguralla, Paderu, Machilipatnam	
2	Assam	1	Kokrajhar	
3	Chhattisgarh	3	Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker	
4	Gujarat	5	Narmada, Navsari, Panchmahal, Porbandar, Morbi	
5	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Udhampur, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)	

S.No	State/UT	No. of colleges	Districts
6	Karnataka	4	Chikkamagaluru, Haveri, Yadgiri, Chikkaballapura
7	Ladakh	1	Leh
8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Rajgarh, Mandla, Neemuch, Mandsaur, Sheopur, Singrauli
9	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
10	Manipur	1	Churachandpur
11	Nagaland	1	Mon
12	Odisha	1	Kalahandi
13	Punjab	2	Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur
14	Rajasthan	15	Alwar, Baran, Bansawara, Chittorgarh, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Nagaur, Shri Ganganagar, Sirohi, Bundi, SawaiMadhopur, Tonk, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhunu, Dausa
15	Uttarakhand	3	Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar), Pithoragarh, Haridwar
16	Uttar Pradesh	14	Bijnaur, Kushinagar, Sultanpur, Gonda, Lalitpur, LakhimpurKheri, Chandauli, Bulandshahar, Sonbhadra, Pilibhit, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Amethi
17	Tamil Nadu	11	Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Namakkal, Dindigul, Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, Tiruvallur, Nagapattinam, Ariyalur, Kallakurichi
18	West Bengal	1	Jalpaiguri