<u>Thursday</u>, July 30, 2015

Shravana 8, 1937 (Saka)

LOK SABHA DEBATES (English Version)

Fifth Session (Sixteenth Lok Sabha)



(Vol. XI contains Nos.21 to 25)

LOK SABHA SECRETARIAT
NEW DELHI

EDITORIAL BOARD

Utpal Kumar Singh

Secretary-General

Lok Sabha

Mamta Kemwal

Joint Secretary

Amar Singh

Director

Nalin Kumar

Joint Director

Devendra Kumar Sharma

Deputy Director/Editor

© 2015 Lok Sabha Secretariat

None of the material may be copied, reproduced, distributed, republished, downloaded, displayed, posted or transmitted in any form or by any means, including but not limited to, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without the prior permission of Lok Sabha Secretariat. However, the material can be displayed, copied, distributed and downloaded for personal, non-commercial use only, provided the material is not modified and all copyright and other proprietary notices contained in the material are retained.

This English Version has been translated with the help of AI based software application and reasonable efforts have been made to provide an accurate translation. However, if any questions arise related to the accuracy of the translated text, Original English proceedings included in English Version will be treated as authoritative and not the English translation of the speeches made in Hindi and other languages included in it. For complete authoritative version please see Original Version of Lok Sabha Debates.

CONTENTS

Sixteenth Series, Vol. XI, Fifth Session, 2015/1937 (Saka) No. 7, Thursday, July 30, 2015/ Shravana 8, 1937 (Saka)

<u>SUBJECT</u>	PAGES
OBITUARY REFERENCES	6-8
ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER	8
WRITTEN ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS	9
Starred Question Nos. 122 to 141 (29.07.2015) 142 to 161 (30.07.2015)	
Unstarred QuestionNos. 1381 to 1610 (29.07.2015) 1611 to 1840 (30.07.2015)	/

OFFICERS OF LOK SABHA

THE SPEAKER

Shrimati Sumitra Mahajan

THE DEPUTY SPEAKER

Dr. M. Thambidurai

PANEL OF CHAIRPERSONS

Shri Arjun Charan Sethi
Shri Hukmdeo Narayan Yadav
Shri Anandrao Adsul
Shri Pralhad Joshi
Dr. Ratna De (Nag)
Shri Ramen Deka
Shri Konakalla Narayana Rao
Shri Hukum Singh
Shri K.H. Muniyappa
Dr. P. Venugopal

SECRETARY GENERAL

Shri Anoop Mishra

LOK SABHA DEBATES

LOK SABHA

Thursday, July 30, 2015/Shravana 8, 1937 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock

[HON. SPEAKER in the Chair]

OBITUARY REFERENCES

[Translation]

HON. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, I have to inform the House about the sad demise of three former members Shri Shrivallabh Panigrahi, Shri RS Gavai and Shri Vijay Handik.

Shri Shrivallabh Panigrahi was a member of the Eighth, Ninth and Eleventh Lok Sabha representing Deogarh parliamentary constituency of Odisha.

An accomplished parliamentarian, Shri Panigrahi served as the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Petroleum and Fertilisers during the Tenth Lok Sabha.He also served as a member of various committees during the Eighth, Ninth and Eleventh Lok Sabha.

Shri Panigrahi was also a member of Odisha Legislative Assembly for two terms from 1971 to 1977. He served as a minister in various Ministries of the Government of Odisha from 1972 to 1977.

Shri Shrivallabh Panigrahi died on July 8, 2015 in Bengaluru at the age of 74.

Shri R.S. Gavai was a member of the Twelfth Lok Sabha and represented Amravati parliamentary constituency of Maharashtra.

He also served as a member of the Rajya Sabha from the year 2000 to 2006.

A respected parliamentarian, Shri Gavai was also a member of the Committee on Urban and Rural Development during the Twelfth Lok Sabha.

Earlier, Shri Gavai had been a member of the Maharashtra Legislative Council five times from 1964 to 1994. He was the Chairman of the Maharashtra Legislative Council from 1978 to 1984 and he also served as the Deputy Chairman of the Maharashtra Legislative Council for two terms from

1968 to 1978. He was the leader of the opposition in the Maharashtra Legislative Council from 1986 to 1988.

Shri Gavai served as the Governor of Bihar from 2006 to 2008 and he was the Governor of Kerala from 2008 to 2011. He was also the acting Governor of Sikkim in the year 2006.

Shri R.S. Gavai died on July 25, 2015 in Nagpur at the age of 86.

Shri Bijoy Handique was a member of the Tenth to Fifteenth Lok Sabha from Jorhat parliamentary constituency of Assam from 1991 to 2014.

Shri Handique was the Cabinet Minister of Ministry of Mines and Development of North Eastern Region during the Fifteenth Lok Sabha. He also served as Minister of State in the Ministries of Defence, Parliamentary Affairs, Chemicals and Fertilisers and Mines during the Fourteenth Lok Sabha.

Before this, Shri Handique was a member of the Rajya Sabha from 1980 to 1986 and a member of the Assam Legislative Assembly from 1972 to 1976. Shri Handique was also the Chairman of the Railway Conference Committee and a member of various parliamentary committees during the Tenth to Thirteenth Lok Sabha.

A man of scholarly pursuits Shri Handique also got his poems published in the American poetics bearing the title of " The other Side of the Mirror & Description of American poetry." titled "

Shri Bijoy Handique died on 26 July 2015 in Jorhat, Assam at the age of 80.

We deeply mourn the demise of our former colleagues and, on our own behalf and on behalf of the House, extend our condolences to the bereaved families.

Hon. Members, as per the information received, Superintendent of Police Shri Baljeet Singh and three Home Guard personnel Shri Sukhdev Singh, Bodh Raj and Des Raj were martyred in a terrorist attack on a police station and a bus in Gurdaspur, Punjab on July 27, 2015 and 17 others were injured. Shri Baljeet Singh's father was also martyred in the terrorist action.

The House strongly condemns this terrorists' attack and expresses its deep sorrow over the pain and sufferings caused to the bereaved families and the injured. The House will observe silence for a while as a mark of respect to the departed souls.

11.07 hrs

[English]

The Members then stood in silence for short while.

11.07 ½ hrs

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER

HON. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, the funeral of our ex-President, Shri A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, is taking place at Rameswaram. As a mark of respect, the House is adjourned today to meet again tomorrow, the 31st July, 2015 at 1100 am.

HON. SPEAKER: Now, the House stands adjourned to meet again tomorrow.

11.08 hrs

The Lok Sabha then adjourned till Eleven of the Clock on Friday, July 31, 2015 / Shravana 9, 1937 (Saka)

*WRITTEN ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS

Starred Question Nos. 122 to 141 (29.07.2015) 142 to 161 (30.07.2015)

Unstarred QuestionNos. 1381 to 1610 (29.07.2015) 1611 to 1840 (30.07.2015)

^{*} For Questions, please refer to Master copy of English version, placed in Library.

You can also visit https://sansad.in/ls/questions/questions-and-answers for more information.

<u>INTERNET</u>
The Original version, English version and Hindi Version of Lok Sabha proceedings are available on Parliament of India Website at the following address: https://sansad.in/ls

<u>LIVE TELECAST OF PROCEEDINGS OF LOK SABHA</u>
Lok Sabha proceedings are telecast live on Sansad TV Channel. Live telecast begins at 11 A.M. every day the Lok Sabha sits till the adjournment of the House.

©2015 By Lok Sabha Secretariat

Published under Rules 379 and 382 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha (Seventeenth Edition)