(e) if not, the amount and number of monthly tickets sold during the last two years?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI SATPAL MAHARAJ) : (a) and (b). Season tickets are issued for various stations from Panagarh on Panagarh-Howrah section via Main upto a distance of 150 Kms.

- (c) No, Sir.
- (d) Does not arise.
- (e) 1095 season tickets giving an earning of Rs. 1.49 lakhs during 1994-95 and 1095 season tickets giving an earning of Rs. 1.69 lakhs during 1995-96 were issued at Panagarh for different stations on Panagarh-Howrah section via Main.

Licensed Porters

- 3024. SHRI JAGDAMBI PRASAD YADAV : Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state :
- (a) the official strength of Licensed Porters, as on August 15, 1994 at Itwari, Kanhan, Kamptee, Bhandara Road, Tumsar Road and Tirora stations of the South Eastern Railway, Station-wise;
- (b) the additional number of Licensed Porters were recruited for each station mentioned in (a) above to handle parcel traffic with effect from September 1,1994;
- (c) whether Railway Board had issued instructions to abolish contract system for Parcel handing work, where contractors demanded revision in rates due to increase in Labour rates and have the work managed by recruiting licensed porters; and
- (d) if not, the time by which the General Manager, South Eastern Railway propose to introduce new system of working?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI SATPAL MAHARAJ): (a) the official strength of Licensed Porters as on 15.8.94 is as under:

Itwari	7	Kanhan	NIL
Kamptee	8	Bhandara Road	5
Tumsar Road	8	Tirora	NIL

(b) The additional number of licensed porters engaged at these station with effect from September 1,1994 is as under:

ltwari	33	Kanhan	4
Kamptee	16	Bhandara Road	16
Tumsar Road	16	Tirora	8

(c) and (d). No instructions have been issued by the Board to abolish the contract system for parcel handling work. At some station on South Eastern Railway licensed porters are being utilised to handle parcel traffic in addition to their normal function of carrying passengers luggage.

[Translation]

Package for Rural Telephone Subscribers

Written Answers

3025. SHRI SANTOSH KUMAR GANGWAR : WIII the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the package announced by the former Minister of Communications in December, 1995 for the rural telephone subscribers;
 - (b) the progress made in this regard so far; and
 - (c) the reasons for the delay?

THE MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI BENI PRASAD VARMA): (a) The information is given in the enclosed statement.

(b) and (c). Most of the features of the rural package have been implemented in almost all parts of the country.

The salient features of the package announced in November, 1995 are as under:

- 1. Free calls have been increased to 250 from present 150 per billing cycle for rural subscribers.
- 2. Registration fee for new connections has been reduced to Rs. 1000/- from existing Rs. 2000/- for rural subscribers working from exchange systems of below 10,000 lines.
- 3. Telephone rental has been reduced to Rs. 100/- bimonthly from existing Rs. 150/- for rural subscribers of exchange systems of 100 lines to below 1000 lines.
- 4. The installation charges for telephone connections in telephone exchanges of less than 500 lines shall be maintained at Rs. 300/- upto 31.3.1998 for all rural subscribers.
- 5. Call charges for 200 calls above 250 free calls have been reduced by 25% for rural subscribers.
- 6. Commission payable to franchisees of local and STD PCOs in Panchayats and PCOs provided under Panchayat Sanchar Sewa Yojna has been increased from present 20% to 50% on gross turnover.
- 7. The STD/ISD PCO franchisees in rural areas are to be paid commission @ 25% on the gross turnover per month.
- 8. In non-rural areas of the predominantly hilly states of J&K, Himachal Pradesh, Garhwal and Kumaon hill areas of U.P. Sikkim and 7 North Eastern States (Assam, Arunachal Pradesha Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura) as well as in the Hilly/ tribal areas of the rest of the country, the franchisees are to be paid commission @ 20% on a gross turnover upto 50,000/- and

1

2

- @ 15% on the gross turnover beyond Rs. 50,000/- per month.
- In rest of the country the franchises are to be paid commission @ 16% upto a gross turnover of Rs. 20,000/- per month; @ 15% on the gross turnover between Rs. 20,000/and Rs. 50,000/- per month and 12% on the gross turnover beyond Rs. 50,000/- per month.
- Group dialling facility to be provided upto 30 kms in rural, hilly and tribal areas of the country.

[English]

Railways

3026. SHRI MUKHTAR ANIS: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Railway Divisions at present with respective track-kilometerage and headquarters;
- (b) the number of Railway Service Commission at present with their jurisdiction, headquarters and composition;
- (c) the number of railway personnel recuited by each Commission during 1995-96 catgory-wise; and
- (d) the number of recruitee belonging to SCs/STs, OBCs and Religious Minorities included among them?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI SATPAL MAHARAJ): (a)A statement-l is attached.

- (b) Statements-II-III are attached.
- (c) and (d). While details regarding minorities are not maintained by Railways, the information ragarding personnel recruited will be laid on the table of the Sabha.

STATEMENT-I

Part (a)

List of Divisions on Indian Railway

There are 59 Divisions at present on Indian Railway which are shown as under alongwith their route kilometres of track (as on 31.3.96) and headquarters.

Divisional Headquarters	Route Kilometres of Track
1	2
Bhopal	917
Bhusawal	976
Bombay (CR)	540
Jab a lpur	1177

,	<u> </u>
Jhansi	1564
Solapur	1018
Nagpur	856
Asansol	682
Danapur	697
Dhanbad	852
Howrah	874
Sealdah	713
Mugalsarai	346
Malda	437
Adra	990
Bilaspur	1128
Chakradharpur	8 59
Kharagpur	666
Khurda	701
Waltair	1108
Sambalpur	551
Nagpur (SE)	1348
Ajmer	1483
Bhavnagar	1310
Bombay (WR)	637
Jaipur	1435
Kota	959
Rajkot	1257
Ratlam	1263
Lumding	958
Bangalore	904
Madras	704
Madurai	1448
Musore	1100
Palghat	1140
Trichy	1125
Trivandrum	628
Guntakal	1578
Hubli	1457
Hyderabad	1573
Secunderabad	1338
Vijaywada	1258
Allahabad	1076
Ambala	1009
Bikaner	1779
Delhi	1193
Ferozpur	1476
Jodhpur	1609
Lucknow	1453