Daltangani and Muzaffarpur are presently functioning in

- (b) There is no proposal to set up more Doordarshan Kendras in the State.
 - (c) No; Sir.

321

(d) Does not arise.

Construction of Post Office Buildings

2886. SHRI CHINMAYANAND SWAMI : DR. RAM VILAS VEDANTI: SHRI H.P. SINGH:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether several post offices, sub post offices do not have their own building in U.P. and Bihar;
 - (b) if so, the details thereof:
- (c) the total rent paid by the Government on this account during the last three years;
- (d) whether Govrnment propose to construct the building of said post offices in these States;
 - (e) if so, the details thereof; and
 - (f) if not, the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI KABINDRA PURKAYASTHA): (a) Yes, Sir.

- (b) The number of post offices which do not have their own buildings in UP and Bihar are 2600 and 1226 respectively.
- (c) The total rent paid by the Government on this account during the last 3 years-Rs. 4,17,68,232.03 (Four crore seventeen lakhs sixty eight thousand two hundred thirty two and paise three only) and Rs. 1,70,31,240/-(Rupees one crore seventy lakhs thirty one thousand two hundred and forty only), for U.P. and Bihar respectively.
- (d) Yes, sir, in a phased manner depending on the availability of funds.
- (e) the details of on-going projects in U.P. and Bihar as also the new projects which have recently been approved may kindly be perused at the statement attached.
 - (f) Reply as per (e) above.

Statement

UTTAR PRADESH CIRCLE

- I. ON-GOING PROJECTS
 - 1. P.O. at Ramnagar
 - 2. P.O. at Tilokpur
 - 3. Dehradun HPO (Vertical Extension)
 - 4. Gaura Partapgarh P.O.
 - 5. P.O. at Mardah
 - 6. P.O. at Kidwainagar P.O.
 - 7. Jarwal P.O.
 - 8. Kavi Nagar P.O. Ghaziabad
 - 9. P.O. at Sirauli Gauspur
 - 10. Sanjay Palace Agra
- II. NEW PROJECTS APPROVED
 - 1. Joshimath P.O.
 - 2. Kotabagh P.O.
 - 3. Jagdishpur Ind. area P.O.
 - 4. Patti PO.
 - 5. Indranagar P.O.

BIHAR CIRCLE

- I. ON-GOING PROJECTS
 - 1. P.O. at Manjhi
 - 2. P.O. at Lauria
 - 3. P.O. at Barhara
 - 4. P.O. at Raghunathpur
 - 5. Dhanbad HPO
 - 6. P.O. at Chakai
 - 7. P.O. at Daudnagar
 - 8. Motihari RMS (Deposit work)

II. NEW PROJECTS APPROVED

- 1. P.O. at Patliputra Patna
- 2. P.O. at Guliarbagh
- 3 Chaibasa P.O.

[English]

Report of Expert Group on Licence for Structure

2887. SHRI D.S. AHIRE: SHRI MANIKRAO HODLYA GAVIT:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether attention of the Government has been drawn to the news-item captioned "Expert Group set up to sort out 'knotty' Telecom Problems" appearing in the Times of India, dated November 21, 1998:
 - (b) if so, the facts of the matter reported therein;
 - (c) the names and number of Group Members; and
- (d) the time by which the expert group is likely to submit its report?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHIR KABINDRA PURKAYASTHA):
(a) Yes. Sir

- (b) The Government has constituted a Group in Telecommunications (GOT) headed by Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission on 20th November, 1998 to make recommendations on:—
 - (i) Proposed New Telecom Policy;
 - (ii) Issues relating to the existing Licensees of basic and cellular services and suggest appropriate remedial measures within the framework of the New Telecom Policy.
 - (iii) Issues relating to the TRAI.

In making recommendations on the New telecom Policy, (Item No. (i) above), the Group is to hold wider discussion & interaction with Industry and Trade as well as with knowledgeable persons in the telecom sector, both official as well as non-official.

(c) The names of Chairman & Members of the Group are given in the statement enclosed.

(d) The Group has been asked to make its recommendations to the Prime Minister as early as possible.

324

Statement

Names of the Members of the Group on Telecommunications (GOT)

- Shri Jaswant Singh Chairman
 Dy. Chairman, Planning Commission.
- Shri M.S. Ahluwalia, Member (Telecom), Planning Commission.
- Dr. Vijay Kelkar, Secretary, Ministry of Finance.
- 4. Shri R.L. Meena, Secretary, Ministry of Law & Justice.
- Shri Anil Kumar
 Secretary, Department of Telecommunications.
- Shri P.S. Saran, Members (Services), Telecom Commission.
- 7. Shri R.R.N. Prasad,
 Member (Prodn.), Telecom
 Commission. Members
- 8. Dr. N. Seshagiri,
 Director General, National Informatics Centre.
- Dr. Rodham Narasimhan,
 Director, National Institute of Advanced
 Studies, IIS Complex, Bangalore.
- Dr. S. Rangarajan,
 Director, Satellite Communications,
 Deptt. of Space, Bangalore.
- Shri Sudheendra Kulkarni,
 Director (Communications. & Research),
 Prime Minister's Office.
- 12. Shri N.K. Singh
 Secretary to Prime Minister. MemberSecretary

Postal Services

2888. SHRI A.F. GOLAM OSMANI: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state: