**119** 

## Act passed by State Governmen for Commissory Panilly Planning

## 397 SHRIMATT ROZA DESH. PANDE-SHRI VAYALAR RAVI:

Will the Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the States which have enacted compulsory family planning:
- (b) the number of motivated camps for family planning being run in the Union Territories:
  - (c) the reaction of the people:
- (d) whether Government have taken any steps to educate the people in favour of family planning; and
  - (e) if so the outlines thereof?

THE DEPUTY MINISTER IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FA-MILY PLANNING (SHRI A. K. M. (a) None of the ISHAQUE): States has as yet enacted a Law on compulsory family planning.

- (b) According to the information available 67 motivational camps were held in Delhi and 125 in the Union Territory of Pondicherry
- (c) It has been favourable and responsive.
- (d) and (e). Yes, Sir. A country-wide campaign through all media of publicity such as Radio, Television, Press, Films etc. has been undertaken to educate and motivate the people

## STD Facilities to State Capi'als

308. SHRI K. SURYANARAYANA: Will the Minister of COMMUNICA-TIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether STD facilities are extended to all the State capitals of the country:
- (b) if so, how many State capitals are connected to Delhi by STD and how many are still to be connected: and
- (c) the target dates for extending the above facilities to State capitals still not connected?

THE MINISTER OF COMMUNI-CATIONS (DR. SHANKAR DAYAL SHARMA): (a) Not yet.

- (b) Out of 21 State Capitals, the following 11 are now connected by STD to Delhi:--
  - 1. Bombay-Maharashtra
  - 2. Bhopal-Madhya Pradesh.
  - 3. Gandhinagar-Gujarat,
  - 4. Chandigarh-Punjab & Harrana
  - 5. Jaipur-Rajasthan.
  - 6. Lucknow--- Uttar Pradesh
  - 7. Madras-Tamil Nadu.
  - 8. Patna-Bihar
  - 9. Simla-Himachal Pradesh
  - 10. Srinagar-Jammu & Kashmir.
  - 11. Trivandrum-Kerala

The remaining 10 State Capitals are still to be connected

- (c) The programme for connecting the remaining State Capitals to Delhi is as below:--
  - 1. Bangalore (Karnataka)
- 2. Bhubaneshwar (Orissa).
- 3. Dispur (Assam).

976-77

- 4. Calcutta (West Bengal).
- 5. Hyderabad (Andhra)
- 6. Shillong (Meghalaya)