vide a link between Jaipur and Bhopal, the Capitals of Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh. Attention is now being concentrated on the development of these National Highways and those existing eariler. Owing to financial limitations, Government of India are not in a position to take over any more road as National Highway at present in any State.

Statement

SI. No.	State			No. of proposals received from the States dur- ing the last 3 years.	
1	2				3
1	Andhra Prac	lesh			8
2	Arunachal P	radesh			1
3	Assem .		,		2
4	Bihar .				6
5	Gujarat				4
6	Himael al Pr	adesh			2
7	Karnataka				1.1
₿.	Kerala				3
9	Madhya Pra	desh			23
10.	Maharasthra				13
11	Manipur		·		I
12.	Meghalaya		,		1
13	Mizoram		×		I
14	Orissa .				1
15	Pondicherry				1
16.	Punjab				2
17	Rajasthan				1
18	Tamil Nadu				2
19	Tripura				I
2 0	Uttar Parade	sh			16
		Total			100

राष्ट्रीय तथा क्षेत्रीय परिवट

16. श्री निहाल सिंह : क्या नीवहन और परिवहन मंत्री यह बताने की कृपा कर्गे कि परिवहन प्राधिकरणों दवारा गतः तीन वर्षां के दौरान कितने नए राष्ट्रीय/क्षे-त्रीय परिमट जारी किए गए ?.

नौवहन और परिवहन मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री सीता राम केसरी) :

वर्ष 1979 में भारत सरकार ने सरकार संघ प्रशासनों दवारा आबंटन करने के लिए 8,300 राष्ट्रीय परिमटों का आवं-टन किया । यह आवंटन अक्टबर 1980 में 16,600 तक बढ़ा दी गई है। अब राज्य सरकार/संघ प्रशासनों से प्राप्त स्चना के आधार पर 13,000 राष्ट्रीय परिमर्टों का आवंटन किया जा चुका है और शेष पर-मिटों के आवंटन का कार्य हो रहा है। इसी प्रकार क्षेत्रीय परिमटों 22,196 पर-मिटों में से 12,300 परिमटों का आवंटन किया जा चुका है और शेष परिमटों के आवंटन का कार्य किया जा रहा है।

Nomination of SC/ST representatives on Committees under Railway Ministry

- 17 SHRI BHEEKHABHAI: Will the Minster of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:
- (a) number of committee such as, National Railway Users' Consultative Committee, Zonal Railway Users' Consultative Committee/DRUCC and such other committees on which members are to be nominated under the administrative control of the Ministry and the constitution of Committees alongwith their tenure;
- (b) the date from which these commitees were constituted their present term would expire;
- (c) the details of SC/ST members nominated on these committees:
- (d) in case no representation to SC/ ST has been given, the reasons therefor; and

(e) whether the recommendations for SC/ST for their nomination as member of NRUCC/ZRUCC and other such committees are pending consideration, if so, the decision taken

thereon?

1154 LS-4

THE DEPUTY MINISTER IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS AND IN THE DEPARTMENT OF PARLIA-MENTARY AFFAIRS (SHEI MALLI-KARJUN): (a) to (e) The Consultative Committees which were functioning on the Railways had become unwieldy and had lost their represen-

tative character. With a view to revamping them, these were dissolved and fresh committees are in the process of reconstitution. They will have adequate representation from Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe and Minorities.

The Constitution and tenure of National Railway Users' Consultative Council, Zonal Railway Users' Consultative Committees and Divisional Railway Users' Consultative Committees are given in attached statement I. II and III.

Statement-I

NATIONAL RAILWAY USERS' CONSULTATIVE COUNCIL-I

Head Quarters: New Delhi Tenure of Office : Two years. Chairman: Minister for Railways. CONSTITUTION: 1. Secretaries to the Ministries of :-(a) Industry (b) Commerce (c) Tourism & Civil Aviation = 3 Chairman and Members of Railways Board. . =5Members of Parliament: Lok Sabha are IO = 15 Rajya Sbha 5 Elected Representative one each from the ZRUCC. One member each from the following All India Association :-(a) Feder ted Chambers of Commerce (b) Associated Chamber of Commerce and Industry. (c) Indian Jute Mills Association (d) Indian Sugar Mills Association =7 (e) All India Manufacturers' Organisation. (f) Cement Manufacturers' Association. . (g) All India Travel Agents' Association and similar All India Associations. Members will be taken by turn from these Associations. 6. Agricultural Interest. Two Retired Railway Officers (Member of Board/General Manager) Such other Members as the Minister may appoint to represent interests which he considers are necessary to be represented on the Council

ent Xente in the land

9

Written Answers

Statement - II

ZONAL RAILWAY USERS CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE-9-

Headquarters of each Zonal Railway. Head Quarters:

Tenure of Office; Two years.

General Manager of concerned Zonal Rly. Chairman:

CONSTITUTION:

- State Government Representatives-One each from the State served by the Railway-To be recommended by the concerned
- One Member from each of the State Legislature-To be recommended by the State Government concerned.
- Principle Chambers of Commerce and Trade Associations having 3. a standing of not less then 5 years. . . .
- Representative of Agricultural Associations-To be nominated
- by State Governments
- Elected representative one each from the DRUCC. 5.
- Representatives from Public Sector Undertakings including 6. Ports in the case of Railways serving Ports. (On N.F. Railway only one Public Sector Undertaking is given representation.).
- Registered Passenger Associations. 7.
- Members of Parliament: Lok Sabha 8. Rajya Sbha
- Special Interests:

Nominated by: (1) General Manager = 1

> (2) Minister of Railways

Statement-III

DIVISIONAL RAILWAY USERS' CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE-55

Head Quarters : At Divisional Headquarters.

Tenure of Office: Two years,

DRM of the concerned Division. Chairman:

CONSTITUTION:

- One Representative each of local Chambers of Commerce, Trade Association and Industries and Agricultural Associations. .
 - Registered Passenger Associations in the area.

Rajya Sabha

- State Government Representatives—One each from the States 3. served by the Railway-To be recommended by the concerned State Governments.
- One Member each from the State Legislature-To be recommended by the State Government concerned.
- Members of Parliament: Lok Sabha
- 6.

Special Interests: (1) General Manager = 1

- Nominated by:
- (2) Ministers of
 - Railways.

= 1

- (1) Persons holding assignments of profit connected with the Railways e.g. Catering and Vending Contractors, Out Agency Contractors, Handling Contractors, Engineering Contractors, etc. are debarred from the membership of the Railway Users' Consultative Committees and the NRUCC.
- (2) Members of Parliament are nominated on these Committees/Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.