Transfer of R.M.S. (N-6) Section

340. Shri B. C. Muilick: Will the Minister of Transport and Communications be pleased to state:

(a) whether it is a fact that the R.M.S. (N-6) section from Howrah to Tatanagar has been transferred to West Bengal circle from Orissa circle; and

(b) if so, the reasons therefor?

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Transport and Communications (Shri Raj Bahadur): (a) Yes.

(b) The transfer was made as the major portion of its beat lies in West Bengal.

Litan-Ukhrul Road, Manipur

841. Shri L. Achaw Singh: Will the Minister of Transport and Communications be pleased to state:

(a) whether the earth work and cutting of minor hills on the new Litan-Ukhrul Road in Manipur had already been done before orders for the construction of the road were issued:

(b) when this road was opened for motor traffic;

(c) the amount sanctioned and spent for this work so far; and

(d) how long will it take to make the new road an all-weather road?

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Transport and Communications (Shri Raj Bahadur): (a) No, Sir.

(b) The road was opened as a fair weather road in December 1956 after the completion of earth work cutting.

(c) The amount sanctioned is Rs. 10.06 lakhs. Upto 30th June 1957, an expenditure of Rs. 5.51 lakhs was incurred.

(d) Metalling is in progress. The road is expected to be made all-weather by the end of 1960-61.

MESSAGE FROM RAJYA SABHA

Socretary: Sir, I have to report the following message received from the Secretary of Rajya Sabha:

Calling attention to 2728. matter of urgent public importance

'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha. at its sitting held on Tuesday, the 26th November, 1957, passed the enclosed motion concurring in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rayya Sabha do join in the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to provide for the release of offenders on probation or after due admonition and for matters connected therewith. The names of the members nominated by the Rajya Sabha to serve on the said Joint Committee are set out in the motion.

MOTION

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do join in the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to provide for the release of offenders on probation or after due admonition and for matters connected therewith, and resolves that the following members of the Rajya Sabha be nominated to serve on the said Joint Committee.—

- 1. Shri Surendra Mohan Ghoee.
- 2 Shri K. Madhava Menon.
- 3. Shri Ahmad Said Khan.
- 4. Shrimati Lilavati Munshi.
- 5. Shri B. M. Gupte.
- 6. Shri R. U. Agnibhoj.
- 7. Shrimati T. Nallamuthu Ramamurti.
- 8. Shri N. R. Malkani.
- 9. Prof. A. R. Wadia.
- 10. Shri Abdur Rezzak Khan.
- 11. Shri Rajendra Pratap Sinha.
- 12. Shrimati Violet Alva."'

CALLING ATTENTION TO MATTER OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

FARRUKHABAD-KANPUR PASSENCES TRAIN DERAILMENT

Shri Jagdish Awasthi (Bilhaur): Under Rule 197, I beg to call the