278

Ernakulam (Kerala State) for opening of more telegraph offices in the town; and

(b) if so, the action taken in the matter?

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Transport and Communications (Shri Raj Bahadur): (a) and (b). Representations have been received for providing telegraph facilities at (1) Karithala and (2) Ernakulam High Court Post Offices. Proposal (1) has been sanctioned. The second one will be sanctioned, if found justified.

Central Cocoanut Committee

39. Shri Pocker Sahib: Will the Minister of Food and Agriculture be pleased to state the number of appointments of officers made by Government to the Central Cocoanut Committee during the last five years?

The Minister of Food and Agriculture (Shri A. P. Jain): Information is being collected and will be placed on the Table of the Lok Sabha as soon as it becomes available.

High Level Committee on Floods

- 40. Shri T. K. Chaudhuri: Will the Minister of Irrigation and Power be pleased to refer to the reply given to Starred Question No. 1437 on the 3rd September, 1957 and state:
- (a) whether the High Level Committee on Floods have finished their work and have submitted their report to Government;
- (b) whether it has been possible for the High Level Flood Committee to obtain a copy of the Report of Committee of Experts appointed by the West Bengal Government last year to investigate into the causes of the Mayurakshi floods in 1956; and
- (c) whether the High Level Committee has considered that Report?

The Minister of Irrigation and Tower (Shri S K. Patil): (a) Not yet.

- (b) The report has not yet been received by the Committee from the West Bengal Government.
 - (c) Does not arise.

Cochin Harbour Administration

41. Shri Pocker Sahib: Will the Minister of Transport and Communications be pleased to state the number of appointments made in the Cochin Harbour Administrative Departments in the last 5 years?

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Transport and Communications (Shri Raj Bahadur): 330

Community Block Advisory Committees

42. Shri Shree Narayan Das: Shri Radha Raman:

Will the Minister of Community Development be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Community Block Advisory Committees have been formed and are functioning; and
- (b) if so, their constitution and functions?

The Minister of Community Development (Shri S. K. Dey): (a) Yes.

- (b) Constitution: In addition to the principal officials serving in the Block area, the Block Advisory Committee consists of:—
 - (1) Local Members of Parliament.
 - (2) Local Members of State Assembly.
 - (3) Local Members of District Board or other similar local authority.
 - (4) Representatives from the Village Panchayats in the area.
 - (5) Representatives from the multipurpose Co-operative Societies in the area.