011

THE MINISTER OF AGRICUL-TURE AND RURAL RECONSTRUC-IRRIGATION TION AND AND CIVIL SUPPLIES (RAO BIRENDRA SINGH): (a) and (b). The Chief Minister of Maharashtra met the Union Minister of Agriculture and were exchanged on the issue of pricing of agricultural commodities particularly sugarcane, onion and cotton. A suggestion was made that all components of cost of cultivation as well as terms of trade between agriculture and industry should be taken into account for fixing the support prices of agricultural commodities. This generally agreed to.  $\mathbf{A}\mathbf{s}$ regards onions, it was agreed that NAFED and the State Cooperative Marketing Federation would purchase some quantities of onions on prices ranging between Rs. 60/- to Rs. 75/- per quintal. This was done. As regards sugarcane, it was clarified that the price fixed by the Central Government viz; Rs. 13 per quintal was only a statutory minimum cane price payable by factories linked to 8.5 per cent recovery with full proportionate premium higher recoveries and the factories were free to pay higher prices. Maharashtra most of the sugar factories are in the cooperative sector and most of the cane is supplied through the members of Sugarcane Cooperative Societies and the cane price fixation is done by the State Government itself through a Committee of which the Chief Minister is the Chairman. Procedurally the Committee fixes the initial price payable by the Cooperative factories in the beginning of the season and then determines the final price based on the actual realisations of the factory. The prices thus paid have been much higher than the statutory minimum,

## Special Postage Stamps on Freedom Fighters

5535. SHRI INDRAJIT GUPTA: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the names of all the freedom fighters, including martyrs in whose

honour special postage stamps have been issued so far; and

(b) further names which are under consideration for this purpose?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI KARTIK ORAON): (a) A list of names of freedom fighters and martyrs in whose honour postage stamps have been issued so far is attached.

(b) A sub-Committee of the Philaletic Advisory Committee to advise the Government about issue of a series of stamps depicting the landmarks in India's struggle for freedom has been constituted. This Committee would consider all further proposals in this respect.

## Statement

Freedom Fighters and Martyrs on whom Stamps have been issuer

- Mahatma Gandhi.
- 2. Balgangadhar Tilak.
- 3. Bipin Chandra Pal,
- 4. Madan Mohan Malvia,
- Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi.
- Rajendra Prasad.
- Dadabhay Naoroji.
- 8. Annie Besant.
- 9. Gopabandhu Das.
- 10. Subhas Chandra Bose.
- Sarojini Naidu.
- Kasturba Gandhi.
- 13. Jawaharlal Nehru.
- 14. Asutosh Mookerjee.
- Aurobindo.
- 16. Rammohun Roy.
- 17. Lajpat Rai,
- Gobind Ballabh Pant.
- Vallabhai Patel.
- 20. Chittaranjan Das.
- 21. Lal Bahadur Shastri,
- 22. B. R. Ambedkar.
- 23. Gopal Krishna Gokhale.
- 24. Babu Kunwar Singh.

- 25. Abdul Kalam Azad.
- 26. Maharana Pratap.
- 27. S. Radhakrishnan,
- 28. T. Prakasham.
- 29. Bhagat Singh.
- 30. Rafi Ahmed Kidwai.
- 31. Zakir Hussain.
- 32. V. D. Savarkar.
- 33. Jatindra Nath Mukherjee.
- 34. Janmalal Bajaj.
- 35. C. F. Andrews.
- 36. Romesh Chander Dutt.
- 37. Vithal Bhai Patel.
- 38. C. Rajagopalachari,
- 39. Shivaji,
- 40. Jainarayan Vyas.
- 41. V. V. Giri.
- 42. V. K. Krishna Menon.
- 43. Bahadur Shah Zafar.
- 44. Madhusudan Das.
- 45. L. N. Mishra.
- 46. K Kamaraj.
  - 47. Subhadra Kumari Chauhan.
  - 48. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed.
  - 49. Ram Manohar Lohia.
  - 50. Kittur Rani Channamma.
- 51. Senapati Bapat.
- 52. Syama Prasad Mookerjee.
- 53. Mohammed Ali Jauhar.
- 54. Bhai Parmanand.
- 55. Mahendra Pratap.
- 56. Jatindra Nath Das.
- 57. Jayaprakash Narayan.
- 58. M. A. Ansari.
- 59. G. V. Mavalankar.
- 60. Tipu Sultan
- 61. Kamala Nehru,
- 62. N. C. Barodoloi.
- 63. Hiralal Shastri.
- 64. Tarun Ram Phookan.
- 65. Surya Sen.
- 66. Jyotiba Phule.

- 67. Deendayal Upadhyay.
- 68. Mazharul Haque.
- 69. Premchand.
- 79. Bankim Chandra Chatterjee.
- 71. Sarat Chandra Chatterjee.
- 72. Kasinadhuni N. R. Pantulu
- 73. Subramania Bharati.
- 74. Motilal Nehru.
- 75. Rabindranath Tagore.
- 76. P. C. Ray.
- 77. Bhikaiji Gama.
- 78. Ramabir Ranade.
- 79. Maharaja Ranjit Singh.
- 80. Rash Binari Basu.
- 81. Dr. Bhagwan Das.
- 82. Thakkar Bapa.
- 83. Munshi Nawal Kishore.
- 84. C. N. Annadurai.
- 85. V. S. Srinivasa Sastry.
- 86. Acharya Narendra Dev.

## Foodgrains Destroyed by Pests

5536. PROF. K. K. TIWARY: SHRI JANARDHANA POO-JARY:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that 10 million tonnes of food worth Rs. 1000 crores in destroyed by pests and rodents every year in the absence of proper storage facilities; and
- (b) if so, the remedial measures taken by Government in this regard?

THE MINISTER OF AGRICUL-TURE AND RURAL RECONSTRUC-TION AND IRRIGATION AND CIVIL SUPPLIES (RAO BIRENDRA SINGH): (a) and (b). No precise assessment about less during storage have been made to determine the extent of losses to foodgrains due to

A major portion of the foodgrains produced in the country is retained at

absence of proper storage facilities.