Ľ	Number of branches ipon to be opened he five-year period on 30-6-56	during	opened	up to the	Number of branches which are yet to be opened by 30-6-1956
Bombay	20			10	IO
Madhya Pradesh	16		•	7	9
Madras	2		,	• •	2
Orissa	6			2	4
Punjab	8			5	3
Uttar Pradesh	21			13	8
West Bengal	11			3	8
Part 'C' States					
Ajmer	I			••	τ
Bhopal	I			• •	I
Coorg	I			•••	I
Himachal Prade	sh 3				3
Kutch	2			I	I
Manipur	I			••	I
Tripura	1				I
Vindhya Prades	h 4			2	2
	TOTAL 114			48	66

It cannot be said how many of the remaining 66 branches will be opened during the rest of the year 1954-55. The year-wise number of branches opened is as below:

- July 1951—June 1952 Bombay 2, Madhya Pradesh 1, Punjab 1 and Uttar Pradesh 1. Total 5
- July 1952---June 1953 Andhra 1, Assam 1, Bihar 1, Bombay 4, Madhya Pradesh 4, Orissa 1, Punjab 4, Uttar Pradesh 9, West Bengal 3 and Kutch 1. Total 29
- July 1953—June. 1954 Bihar 2, Bombay 3, Madhya Pradesh 2, Orissa I, Uttar Pradesh 3 and Vindhya Pradesh 2.

Total 13

July and August 1954 Bombay 1

विकय-कर झौर कय-कर

४०३. श्री आर० सी० झर्मा : क्या विस मंत्री यह बताने की कृपा करेंगे कि संविधान के अनुच्छेद २८६(३) के अन्तर्गत अत्यावश्यक वस्तुएं (विकय अथवा कय पर कर की घोषणा तथा विनियमन) अधिनियम के १९५२ में प्रभावी होने के बाद किन-किन राज्यों को राष्ट्रपति ने अत्यावश्यक वस्तुओं के विकय अथवा कय पर कर लगाने के लिये अन्मति प्रदान की है ?

The Deputy Minister of Finance (Shri M. C. Shah): The President has conveyed his assent under provisions of Article 286(3) of the Constitution to Sales Tax legislation on essential goods in the undermentioned States after the enactment of the Essential Goods (Declaration and Regulation of Tax on Sale or Purchase) Act, 1952:

- 1. Bihar.
- 2. Bombay.
- 3. Madhya Bharat.
- 4. Rajasthan.
- 5. Saurashtra.