The payment of compensation victims of train accidents is governed by the provisions contained Sections 82A to 82J of the Railways Act, 1890 and the Railway Accidents (Compensation) Rules, 1950 framed under Section 82J of the Act. The accidents at level crossing gates with road vehicles etc. in which railway passengers are not involved, are not covered under these provisions. As such, no compensation is payable under the Indian Railways Act, 1890, to persons killed or injured in level crossing accidents, collision with road vehicles etc. The victims of such accidents or their dependents claim relief under the Law of Torts and the compensation is paid when so decreed by the Court if any contributory negligence proved on the part of the Railway Administration or any of its However, token ex-gratia payments are made to victims of such accidents by Railway Administrations.

(c) Does not arise.

Unecenomic Routes

8613. SHRI K. S. VEERABHADRAP-PA: Will the Minitser of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there are some routes which are being run at present on uneconomic routes and if so, what are the names of such routes;
- (b) whether there is any scheme under Government's consideration to make the running of these trains economically viable; and
- (c) if so the details thereof?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI SHEO NARAIN): (a) On the Indian Railways, there are 126 branch lines which were found uneconomic during the year 1977-73 (list attached).

- (b) -d (c). The Railways are making all out efforts to make uneconomic branch lines economically viable. Some of the important measures taken by the Railways in this regard are:
 - 1. Intensive checks to curb ticketless travel and alarm chain pulling;
 - 2. Speical arrangements for clearance of mela traffic:
 - 3. Cancellation of trains which are poorly patronised:
 - 4. Replacement of passenger and goods trains by mixed trains;
 - 5. Closure of unremunerative stations halts or their conversion into contractor-operated train halts;
 - 6. Inroduction of only one engine system:
 - 7. Running of trains during day light only;
 - 8. Personalised vigorous canvassing for traffic;
 - 9. Close watch on loading, unloading and transit of wagons;
 - 10. Economy in staff fuel consumption and maintenance, consistent with operational and statutory needs: etc.

Statement

List of Uneconomic Branch Lines in 1977-78

Central Railway Ait-Kunch Panvel-Apte Gwalior-Sheopur Kalan

Eastern Railway .

Neral-Matheran

Barasat-Hasanabad Bakhtiyar Pur-Rajgir Shantipur-Nabadwipghat Dildarnagar-Tarighat Ikra-Gaurandi Bhimgarh—Palasthali

Northern Railway Kalka-Simla

Barhan-Etah

Burdwan-Katwa

Rohtak-Gohana Akbarpur-Tanda Batala-Qadian Garhi Harsaru—Farukhnagar Piper Road-Bilara Verka-Dera Baba Nanak Makrana-Parbatsar Samadari-Munabao Balotra—Pachpadra Tilwara—Tilwara Fair Phagwara-Jaijon Doaba Rattangarh-Sardar Shahi Pathankot-Joginder Nagar Lalgarh-Kolayiat

North Eastern Railway

Hattam Sarai

Pokran-Jaisalmer

Mathura Rd.—Vridavar Madhosing-Mirzapurghat Banmakhi—Behariganj

Raja-ka_Sahaspur—Sambhal

N. E. Railway—(Contd.)

Sahebpur—Kamal—Monghyrghat Sakri Jn.-Jayanagar Narkatiaganj-Bagha Narkatiaganj-Bhikhana Thori Kaptanganj-Chhitauni Duraundha-Maharajganj Salempur—Barhajbazar Indara—Dohrighat Mankapur-Katra Gainsari—Jarwa Dudwa-Gauriphanta Dudwa-Chandan Chauki Shahbaznagar-Kerugani Kashipur-Ramnagar Mandhana—Brahmavart

Northeast Frontier Railway Darjeeling-Himalayan Alipurduar Jn.-New Gitaldaha-Bamanhat Simaluguri—Naginimora Makum-Dangari Lataguri—Ramshai New Mal-Changrabandha Katihar-Kumedpur Tezpore-Rangapara North Baraigram—Dullabcherra

Barsoi-Radhikapur Katihar-Jogbani Fakiragram—Dhubri Singhabad—Old Malda Rajbhatkhawa—Jainti Karimganj—Maishashan

Katihar-Maniharighat

Southern Railway

Shoranur-Nilambur

Tiruturaipondi-Point Calimere

Mettupalaiyan—Ootacamund

Madurai-Bodinayakkanur

Chikjajur-Chitradurg

Nanjangud---Chamrajanagar

Bangalore City-Bangarapet

Nidamangalam-Mannargudi

Peralam-Karaikal

Mayuram—Tranquebar

Tirunelveli-Tiruchendur

Sagar-Talaguppa

South Central Railway

Gudivada-Machilipatnam

Bellary-Rayadrug

Mudkhed-Adilabad

South Eastern Railway

Naupada-Gunupur

Rupsa-Talband

Satpura Railways

Purulia-Kotshila-Ranchi-

Lohardaga

Raipur-Dhamtari

Khurda Road-Puri

Tatanagar—Badampahar

Kanhan-Ramtek

Tumsar Road-Tirodi

Champa—Korba

Western Railway

Chhuchhapura—Tenkhala

Kosamba-Umarpada

Jhagadia-Netrang

Choranda-Motikoral

Sammi-Dahei

Western Railway (Contd.)

Godhra-Lunavada

Piplod-Devgadh Barya

Jorawarnagar-Sayla

Champaner-Shivrajpur-Pani Mines

Dabhoi-Timba Road

Bharuch-Jambusar-Kavi

Chhota Udepur-Jambusar

Ankleshwar-Rajpipla

Chandod-Malsar

Nadiad-Kapadvani

Bilimora-Waghai

Nadiad-Bhadran

Morbi-Ghantila

Bhavnagar-Talaja-Mahuva

Than-Chotila

Botad-Jasdan

Gandhidham-New Kandla

Prachi Road-Kodidar

Talala-Delvada

Hadmatiya—Jodiya

Ningala—Gadhada Swaminarayan

Sanganer Town-Toda Raising

Mavli Jn.-Barisadri

Chanasma—Harij

Ranuj-Metrana Road

Mahesana-Taranga Hill

Himathagar—Khed Brahma

Sihor—Palitana

Dungar Jn.--Victor

Shapur—Saradiya

Kunkavav-Bagasra

Boriyavi-Vadtal Swaminarayan

Anand-Cambay