88

banking company from granting any Ioan or advance to any of its directors.

As regards non banking companies, Section 295 of the Companies Act, 1956 provides that every public company and a private company which is its subsidiary should obtain prior approval of the Central Government for granting loans to its directors. Such loans are approved by the Government only with interest and these are required to be recovered within a period of 15 years or before the Director ceases to be in the service of the 'company, whichever is earlier. Loans to Directors are also fully secured by a mortgage of the acquired assets and personal guarantee.

Income-tax Assessment of Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh

630. SHRI HITENDRA DESAI: Will the DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) is Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh assessed to income-tax; and
- (b) if so, what is the assessments for the last five years?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI ZULFIQUARULLAH) (a) Yes, Sir.

(b) The assessment proceedings in respect of the last five years, i.e. 1974-75 to 1978-79 are pending.

Transfer of Officers of Income tax Department

631. SHRI MUKHTIAR SINGH MALIK:

SHRI SHANKER SINHJI VAGHELA:

SHRI ISHWAR CHAUDHRY:

Will the DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) the decision of Government regarding transfer of officers of the Income-Tax Department from one post to another in the country;
- (b) whether the decision in not being strictly implemented by the I.T. Department of Delhi/New Delhi;

- (c) the names and number of officers in Delhi area who have been working on the same post for a period of more than three years and have not been transferred and what are the reasons thereof; and
- (d) whether Government propose to take any action for implementation of the rule speedily in respect of these officer who have not been transferred and if not the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI ZULFIQUARULLAH): (a) to (c). Officers of Income Tax Department are transferred from one charge to another after 6-7 years stay and are rotated within the charge after 3-4 years.

There are 13 officers in Delhi who have continued to hold the same post for a period exceeding 3 years due to exigencies of work. They are:

 Shri K. Rangahasyam, Income Tax Officer Group A.

,,

- 2. Shri S. C. Gupta:
- 3. Shri G. R. Agnihotri:
- 4. Shri Shobha Ram:
- 5. Shri M. M. Puri:
- 6. Shri A. K. Agrawal:
- 7. Shri U. C. Mathur:
- 8. Shri H. K. Ghai:
- 9. Shri A. K. Luthra:
- 10. Shri Bhaginder Singh, Assistant
- Director of Inspection.
- 11. Jawahar Singh, Assistant Commissioner.
- 12. Shri A. L. Sharda, Assistant Commissioner.
- 13. Shri J. Rama Iyer, Deputy Director of Inspection.
- (d) Out of the 13 officers mentioned above five were not due for transfer in April, 1978. However, the question of transferring all these officers from their present posts will be considered at the time of annual general transfers in April/May, 1979.