| | Gujarat | Dadra & Nagar Haveli | Other parts of the country |
|----------------------|---------|-------------------------|----------------------------|
| Retail Outlets | 81 | 1 | 1284 |
| LPG distributorships | 59 | _ | 983 |

As full details of the above would run into scores of pages, the effort involved in compiling the same would not be commensurate with the purpose sought to be served:

- (b) The oil marketing companies appoint RO dealers/LPG distribution on the basis of recommendations received from the Oil Selection Boards concerned. In making selection of candidates who meet the eligibility criteria in regard to income, educational qualifications, residents, category, age, etc., the Oil Selection Boards take the following factors into account:
 - (i) Personality

- (ii) Business ability/salesmanship;
- (iii) Capacity to arrange finance and capability to provide facilities;
- (iv) Preparedness for working full-time as a dealer; and
- (v) General assessment and extracurricular activities;
- (c) Particulars of RO dealerships and LPG distributorships reserved for candidates belonging to SC/ST categories during the last 3-year period (1985-86 to 1987-88) are given below:

| | Total No. | Reserved for SC/ST | Percentage . |
|----------------------|-----------|-----------------------|--------------|
| RO Dealerships | 1225 | 340 | 27.1 |
| LPG Distributorships | 738 | 196 | 26.6 |

There is no separate reservation as such for minorities, the disabled, war widows, exservicemen, the Blind, Deaf & dumb;

(d) A total number of 244 locations have been approved for setting up of LPG distributorships in the country under the 1988-89 Marketing Plan, out of which 31 locations are in Gujarat State. The Retail Outlet Marketing Plan for 1988-89 would be finalised by the oil industry in due course.

Execution of Power Projects with Soviet Union

984. SHRI SRIKANTHA DATTA NARASIMHARAJA WADIYAR: SHRI KRISHNA SINGH: SHRI VIJAY N.PATIL:

Will the Minister of ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Soviet Union has agreed to assist India in setting up an aggregate generating capacity of 6000 megawatt;
- (b) if so, the year by which this much capacity will be generated;

- (c) the number of power projects identified for execution with the assistance of Soviet Union; and
- (d) the details of programme of Government of India regard?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE DEPARTMENT OF POWER IN THE MINIS-TRY OF ENERGY (SHRI KALPNATH RAI): (a) to (d). During the Ninth meeting of the Indo-Soviet Working Group on Power held in Moscow in May, 1988, it was agreed that the Soviet side would render assistance in setting up an aggregate power generating capacity of 6000 MW, of which about 4500 MW would be commissioned by the end of the Eighth Plan period (March, 1995) and the balance of 1500 MW in the Ninth Plan period. Action has since been initiated for identifying suitable power generating projects projects for Indo-Soviet cooperation.

Industrial Development of Mysore

985. SHRI SRIKANTHA DATTA **NARASIMHARAJA** WADIYAR:

Will the Minister of INDUSTRY be pleased to state:

- (a) the talukas in Karnataka declared as backward areas by Union Government;
 - (b) whether Mysore is one of them;
- (c) if so, the steps taken for the industrial development of Mysore in that State: and
 - (d) the details thereof?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL DEVEL-OPMENT IN THE MINISTRY OF INDUS-TRY (SHRI M. ARUNACHALAM): (a) and (b). All the talukas in the following districts in Karnataka have been identified as industrially backward by the Central Government:

> Category 'A' 1.

> > Bidar

- 2. Category 'B'
 - Raichur 1)
 - 2) Mysore
 - Dharwar 3)
- 3. Category 'C'
 - 1) Belgaum
 - 2) Bijapur
 - 3) Gulbarga
 - 4) Hassan
 - 5) North Kanara
 - 6) South Kanara
 - 7) Tumkur

However the following taluks in the districts shown against each where investment have exceeded Rs. 30 Crores as on 31.3.1983 are not eligible for Central Investment Subsidy and Concessional Finance:-

Mysore

| 2) | Koppal Taluk | Raichur |
|-----|----------------|--------------|
| 3) | Ranebennur | |
| | Taluk | Dharwad |
| 4) | Belgaum Taluk | Gulbarga |
| 5) | Chitapur Taluk | Gulbarga |
| 6) | Sedam Taluk | Gulbarga |
| 7) | Karwar Taluk | North Kanada |
| 8) | Mangalore | • |
| | Taluk | South Kanada |
| 9) | Turuvekera | |
| | Taluk | Tumkur |
| 10) | Timkur Taluk | Tumkur |

1) Mysore Taluk

(c) to (d). The entrepreneurs setting up industries in Mysore District are eligible for 15% Central Subsidy (subject to a maximum of Rs.15 lakhs) in addition to tax benefits, loan on concessional terms, priority in the