(c) whether this did not come to notice of Reserve Bank of India;

(d) if so, the reasons therefor; and

(e) the measures taken by the RBI to prevent such malpractices by the banking institutions?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI JANARDHANA POOJARY): (a) to (o). The Reserve Bank of India have reported that they had come across an instance where branches of a bank had co-accepted the bills drawn under the Letters of Credit issued by them. The Reserve Bank of India have issued a circular to the banks bringing out the legal implications of co-acceptance of such bills and have impressed upon the discounting banks the desirability of ascertaining the reasons for co-acceptance of the bills by a bank under its own L/C before discounting such bills.

Opening of Bank Branches in H.P.

5953, PROF. NARAIN CHAND PARASHAR: Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the places in Himachal Pradesh (District-wise) for which State Bank of India and its affiliates, United Commercial Bank, Central Bank of India, New Bank of India, Allahabad Bank, Syndicate Bank, Union Bank of India and Canara Bank, separately applied for the opening of new branches, during 1984-85, 1985-86 and 1986-87;
- (b) whether any licences for the opening of these branches have since been issued by the RBI;
- (c) if so, the details thereof including the names of such among them where the branches have since been opened; and
- (d) the likely date by which the remaining licences are likely to be issued and the branches opened as also the reasons for delay?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI JANARDHANA POOJARY): (a) Details

of names of centres in Himachal Pradesh for which State Bank of India and its 7 associate Banks, UCO Bank, Central Bank of India and Canara Bank applied directly for Messes for opening of branches during the period 1.4.1984 to 31.3.1987 are set out, districtwise, in the Statement given below. Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has reported that no applications were received during this period from New Bank of India, Allahabad Bank, Syndicate Bank and Union Bank of India for opening branches in Himachal Pradesh.

- (b) and (c). Out of the above centres for which the banks had applied for opening of branches as set cut in the Annexe, RBI allotted only 10 centres to banks which included 4 centres allotted to Regional Rural Banks. RBI has reported that branches have been since opened at centres Gondhla, Gumma and Sundla in Lahul & Spiti, Shimla and Chamba Districts respectively.
- (d) Under the current Branch Licensing Policy for 1985-90 the task of identification of centres conforming to the norms laid down in the Policy had been entrusted to the Lead Banks/State Governments. Only those centres confirming to the Policy norms included in the final list of centres forwarded by the State Governments to RBI are allotted by RBI under the current Branch Licensing Policy to various banks. Allotment of centres would not be made by RBI at present on the basis of applications directly received from the banks under the previous Branch Licensing Pol.cy. RBI has reported that out of 174 centres identified under the current Branch Licensing Policy 110 centres have been alloited to the commercial banks and Regional Rural Barrks. The opening of branches at the centies' allotted to the banks under the current Branch Licensing Policy are required to be spread evenly during the remaining period of the Policy.

Opening of branches by the banks at the centres allotted to them would depend upon various factors such as availability of suitable premises, communication and other infrastructural facilities.

Statement

District wise names of centres for which State Bank of India and its associates, UCO Bank, Central Bank of India and Canara Bank applied for licences during 1.4.1984 to 31.31.987 in Himachal Pradesh

Name of District	State Bank of India and its association	-	Central Bank of India	Canara Bank
Hamirpur	Bhorang Nadoun Sujanpur Tira		**************************************	
Bilaspur	Chumarwin	Auhar Chhakob Behal		
Chamba	∽	Dalhousie Sundia	Dalhousi Pukhri Sahoo Garola Sarol	******
Kulu	Shang Shamshi			
Lahul & Spiti	_	Tandi Gondhla		
Shimla	Shimla Basatpura Shimla (Phag) Industrial Area Shogi	Gumma Shimla Bhatha Uuffa		Sb im!
Kangra	Sansarpur Terrace Bakkar Nagrota Bagwan Villageganj			******
Mandi	Chowk Jarol Mandi			_
Sirmur	Nahan	****	officery).	