## Hardship to bonafide passengers due to Ticketless Travel in Sealdah Division

- 79. SHRI NARAYAN CHOUBEY: Will the Minister of TRANSPORT be pleased to state:
- (a) whether a large number of passengers travel in trains without ticket in Sealdah Division of Eastern Railway;
- (b) whether any assessment has been made regarding the same;
  - (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Bhagirathi Express running between Calcutta and Lalgola ghat is daily used by a large number of ticketless travellers causing great hardship to bonafide passengers; and
- (e) if so, the steps Government propose to take to safeguard the interest of the bona-fide passengers?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE DEPARTMENT OF RAILWAYS (SHRI MADHAVRAO SCINDIA); (a) No, Sir.

- (b) Yes, Sir.
- (c) An assessment was made over Sealdah Division during February, 1985 and it showed that the incidence of ticketless travel was to the extent of 1.6 percent.
  - (d) No, Sir.
  - (e) Does not arise.

## [Translation]

## Passengers fare on Sabarmati Express

80. SHRI RAJ KUMAR RAI: Will the Minister of TRANSPORT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the passengers travelling between Jhansi and Bina Section of the Central Railway by Sabarmati Express are charged fare of express train whereas the train on its route becomes a passenger train:
- (b) whether this train stops at every station between Jhansi and Bina;
- (c) whether in view of the difficulties of the people, Government propose to charge fare of a passenger train; and
- (d) if so, the time by which this will be made effective?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE DEPARTMENT OF RAILWAYS (SHRI MADHAVRAO SCINDIA): (a) Yes, Sir.

- (b) The train stops at all stations between Jhansi and Bina except at Matatila Station.
- (c) and (d). No Sir. There is no proposal to charge passenger fares as out of the entire run of Sabarmati Express, Jhansi-Bina Section is a very small stretch.

## Deaths Due to Aids

81. SHRI RAJ KUMAR RAI:

PROF. K.V. THOMAS:

SHRI VAKKOM PURUSHOTHA-MAN:

SHRI C. JANGA REDDY:

SHRI V. SREENIVASA PRASAD:

DR. A. K. PATEL:

SHRI DHARAM PAL SINGH MALIK:

DR. G.S. RAJHANS:

SHRI SUBHASH YADAV:

DR. B.L. SHAILESH :

SHRI AMAR ROYPRADHAN: